Reviews

Episode 210 - Karen Zgoda, Rachel L. West, and Patricia Shelly: Promoting Macro Social Work Through Social Media/Twitter Chats

Monday, February 27, 2017, 7:30:43 AM

Image of Karen Zgoda, Rachel L. West, and Patricia Shelly

In this episode, our guests Karen Zgoda, Rachel L. West, and Patricia Shelly describe how they are using macro social work Twitter chats to promote support for and education about all forms of macro practice activities. They discuss what Twitter chats are, why they matter, and why social workers are producing and participating in them.

Download MP3 (41.1 MB)

Listener Reviews

16 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
Average Listener Review

Average Rating: 4.5 stars (16 listener reviews )

Share your thoughts with others

Create Your Own Review

Average Rating: 5stars  macrosw, Monday, August 14, 2017

By Shamese Hardin :

The video was very helpful and knowledgeable. I like the fact that as student I am able to network with people nationally and professionally. There's a lot of resources to ongoing and upcoming issues. I am able to give my input and hear/read others inputs. Great opportunity for students to get both real life experience with a technology that can serve them educationally and professionally. It break down exactly what macro social work is and how you can utilize it.


Flag This

 


Average Rating: 5stars  very informative , Monday, August 14, 2017

By DeJa Waller :

I really enjoyed the podcast. I thought the podcast was very informative about macro social work. I even followed the twitter chat. I would love to hear more from these people because they have taught me a lot about macro social work.

Flag This

 


Average Rating: 5stars  informational thirst of knowledgeable nutrients , Monday, August 14, 2017

By Jayla H. :

Considering that this experience would be the first of many, here’s a question, how often do you check your social media notifications. Social networking sites like Facebook and Twitter allow you to find and connect with just about anyone, from old high school friends to co-workers and neighbors. Participating in social media sites such as these can make you feel more connected, but such an easy, casual connection in an electronic environment can also have its dark side. Being a BSW student, and being hands on with my instructor's over the web reinsures that my the world-wide web is also beneficial for professionalism, and promptness.




Flag This

 


Average Rating: 5stars  macro review, Monday, August 14, 2017

By Jalisha :

The podcast on promoting macro Social Work featuring Karen Zgoda, Rachel West, and Patricia Shelley was very informative as to how impactful using social media can be in the world of social work. It was stated that they used Twitter as a gateway to engage into conversations about macro social work because it is more interactive and easier to have chats. Also, twitter was utilized because it can sometimes be hard to find macro social workers and it also provides a place for macro social workers to get together and share ideas, support each other. Chat partners can utilize their particular website for resources. Rachel West also served as the social media manager for ACOSA (Association for Community Organization and Social Administration). Each chat has about 70-969 tweets and it is a great tool to engage students on a better level. It tells people how to get resources and how to get involved and it collaborates with other organizations to gain more knowledge. More schools of social work should integrate social media with their classes and there should be equal balance between micro and macro social work. The speakers stated that one thing learned from using twitter chats is that luckily they don’t need a budget for anything beside their own website. The benefit is that there is potential to grow global networks from the 1 hour weekly chat. Awareness was raised and it was inspiring to think about next generation of social workers. The chat is engaging and energizing and it helps people to talk to others about issues on their level of social work.

Flag This

 


Average Rating: 5stars  episode 210, Monday, August 14, 2017

By Jasmine Williams :

The audio review was very informative. It focuses on how important macro social work is. I think broadcasting through twitter is great way of getting the message out there. Due to many people using social media there is a great chance of knowledge being taught. I think we have become accustomed to social media hashtag foe everything now and not really address issues and resolutions.

Flag This

 


Average Rating: 4stars  autumn's review, Monday, August 14, 2017

By Autumn Mack :

This podcast was beneficial and helpful to me because it helped me understand about the macro social work practice. With the twitter chants it helps you get in touch with the different social workers and learn different things. It also provided me with information about social work.

Flag This

 


Average Rating: 5stars  my review, Monday, August 14, 2017

By Henrique :

I believe that the idea of the Macro Twitter Chat is a great educational way to use social media as an out reach tool and to bring social workers together. Networking is very important when it comes to global growth and from a social workers aspect growth is key for ones health as well as for their clients. With that being said networking is a must for social workers to be able to connect not only with others macro level social workers but also with micro level social workers to be able to exchange material and research to help support each other.










Flag This

 


Average Rating: 5stars  shunkesha's review , Monday, August 14, 2017

By Shunkesha Thompson :

. This twitter chat is actually a great idea. I feel like it gives students more knowledge of what they already know. I really enjoyed listening to this podcast. I like the fact that we get actually hear what professional social workers have to say about being in the social work profession, and as well as what made them come up with this idea. It should talk about all the concepts in social work as a whole.
The fact that they can actually come on twitter and have a group discussion among other macro practice students is brilliant. This is something that should be used at schools all across the world. If more teachers will actually take the time and try I think it would work out. All the feed back that each lady was giving was actually good. I can say I learned a couple of things just from listening to the podcast. They went more in depth with each aspect/topic that was asked by Ms. Ball. This helps students help others with information they don't know or information that they want to know more about. All social workers should be able to connect through a chat somewhat similar to this if not the same exact one.

Flag This

 


Average Rating: 3stars  twitter chat . , Monday, August 14, 2017

By Chynna Rothschild :


I think that the idea and the good thing that comes from the twitter chats is how convenient it is. It's very convenient and easy to get access to and also communicate in since everyone that is included may not always be able to talk amongst one another or even meet.. the twitter, group chat gives a great and positive outlook for everyone that is involved. I would see myself as an member of it.

Flag This

 


Average Rating: 4stars  macro social work, and my view, Monday, August 14, 2017

By Kathryne L :

As a prospecting social worker, these online chats give me relief that I am not alone in the profession I wish to go in. I think as millennials, we are misinterpreted and misunderstood, and by creating these online chats really gives us the opportunity to connect and network about the troubling questions and everyday experiences in our professions. It gives personal insight as to what I have yet to experience, as well as what I have to look forward to as I go into my profession. The great thing about social media is that you are able to connect with anyone all over the globe, so being able to connect and know that there are other social worker (or prospecting social workers) out there who do have questions and who are willing to sit down and discuss weekly topics is very resourceful, and also something that would catch the millennials attention. We, as millennials, already are absorbed with posting, chatting and networking through social media. So, to be able to log on to something that we already take part in daily while able to get help and learn more about social work, is a great move to make.

Flag This

 


Average Rating: 5stars  it's more than a chat: learning how to use your voice, Monday, August 14, 2017

By Alexus :

This interview was extremely beneficial to me because it supported the importance of social media. Many argue that social media is destroying our generation, including myself at times, but we're using it incorrectly. Networking is the major key to the social work profession; what other way to gather incredible thoughts and ideas than doing so through a site that has over a million members. Collaborating with outsides sources can lead to great opportunities. Also, raising awareness and being updated on current news while on twitter chat is an eye opener. I agree that learning how to use your voice on social media is a very important aspect in the social work profession. Companies will research your social media accounts before they read your resume so be mindful of what you say and how you say it. Professional branding is also the key to showing dedication and involvement. Also, by participating in twitter chat, you can inspire others that you had no clue were following you. Twitter chat is an educational tool and should be followed by action steps.

Flag This

 


Average Rating: 4stars  informing future social workers, Monday, August 14, 2017

By Brianna Williams :

This is a great way to express the need for Social Worker at the macro level. Any Social Work I have had an encounter with is a Clinical Social Worker. I feel that as a student it is important to connect with Social Workers from all different levels from mezzo to macro, event on a global scale. This audio was vey informative and from a SWK student perspective these are the question that are asked but never answered because there are very few macro level Social Workers. Twitter as well as other Social Media pages are just another way to inform all others who are not reachable in the physical world. As for student like me in todays society social media is the very first place we go to look for news and other resource of information . So for you ladies and gentleman who came up with this idea keep up the good work. Social networks are the quickest and most easiest ways to reach and inform a student of the millennial population. This was a great and well needed audio post. Thank you ladies.

Flag This

 


Average Rating: 4stars  very informative , Monday, August 14, 2017

By Dia'Monique Sparks :

I really enjoyed listening to the podcast, being that it is my first time listening to one. Podcasts like this one helps social work students like myself (BSW student) get informed on how connecting topics and technology together can impact the social work field. This is a way for listeners to gain knowledge about different topics that goes on in the social work field and also keep up with today's technology at the same time. It is a way to gain connection and interact with other social work students and professional Social Workers who have already done their research on the different topics, also it shows ways to learn from each other as well.

Flag This

 


Average Rating: 5stars  i enjoy the podcast, Monday, August 14, 2017

By Kiana Ross :

I really enjoyed the podcast. As an incoming professional in this field, I feel the best way to reach the people we serve is through social media. As technology change so does the way people interact. As a social worker we are to meet the people where they are and social media is where most people are.




Flag This

 


Average Rating: 5stars  awesome information, Sunday, August 13, 2017

By Kimitria Smith :

I enjoyed listening to the podcast as it provided great information for someone like myself (a BSW student). I love that we are taking the profession to social media outlets because it is reaching the general population on a wider scale and seemingly becomes more accessible. It also gives social workers a community of like-minded individuals to converse with and discuss issues of certain areas that may help others.

Flag This

 


Average Rating: 3stars  social media and social work , Sunday, August 13, 2017

By Anonymous :

This is a great way for incoming social workers to learn and network with each other. As a social work student this forum allows me and several other to share and receive information from diverse populations. Macro social work was broken down and conveyed to the audience very well. Great Job ladies!

Flag This


DISCLAIMER: The content shared by the presenter(s) and/or interviewer(s) of each podcast is their own and not necessarily representative of any views, research, or practice from the UB School of Social Work or the inSocialWork® podcast series.