Reviews

Episode 251 - Dr. Hilary Copp and Dr. William Koehler: A Comparison of Urban and Rural Middle and High School Teachers' Attitudes and Observations About LGBT Students

Monday, November 05, 2018, 8:27:10 AM

Image of Drs. Hilary Copp and William Koehler

In this episode, our guests Dr. Hilary Copp and Dr. William Koehler discuss their work examining urban and rural middle and high school teachers' attitudes and observations of their LGBT students. Our guests describe the challenges faced by schools, policymakers, and practitioners as they attempt to help LGBT students navigate their environments with acceptance, safety, and dignity.

Download MP3 (21.6 MB)

Audio Transcript PDF document.

Listener Reviews

9 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
Average Listener Review

Average Rating: 4.9 stars (9 listener reviews )

Share your thoughts with others

Create Your Own Review

Average Rating: 5stars  important and insightful, Sunday, February 10, 2019

By Mel :

I appreciate this podcast and the research of Dr. Copp and Dr. Koehler for several reasons. We know that LGBTQ youth are at a higher risk of negative health outcomes such as suicidal ideation, depression, and substance use disorder, and that the school environments in which youth spend such a huge portion of their lives has a profound impact on their well being, for better or for worse. Much of the research and resources for LGBTQ youth are biased towards youth living in urban environments, and resources are significantly more limited for these and other vulnerable youth populations living in rural communities. I was not surprised to hear that there was no significant different in the number of instances of anti-LGBT behaviors in rural and urban settings, but that teachers in urban schools reported these instances significantly more than their rural counterparts. I assumed that this had to do with the personal ideology of school staff in rural versus urban environments. What had not occurred to me was the role of homogeny in this discrepancy; that not only are individuals in rural environments less likely to encounter people who are different from them, challenging and opening their worldview and increasing their capacity for acceptance of difference, but that in more homogenous school environments, educators are potentially less exposed to or experienced with catching and addressing instances of identity-based bullying or harassment.
As social workers, it is crucial that we consider the context in our work with clients, and tailor our approach to the needs of the specific individual, population, or community. Research like this is so important in our ability to meet the needs of or clients, particularly when working with key stakeholders and change-makers like teachers who can have such a profound impact on the well-being of vulnerable populations such as their LGBTQ students.

Flag This

 


Average Rating: 5stars  a rural reflection , Saturday, February 09, 2019

By Brooke :

As someone who currently works in a rural school I found Dr. Copp and Dr. Koehler’s research much needed. Bringing awareness to how LGBTQ students are at an increased risk of suicide, mental and physical health needs, increased absenteeism, and lower grades is necessary for all school personnel to be knowledgeable of. I find it problematic that we as social workers are aware of how the school environment impacts LGBTQ students, but many other school personnel often are not. In addition to this, it is concerning that there’s continue to be many rural schools that are not prepared or educated on the best ways to support LGBTQ students. Despite, this struggle I appreciate Dr. Copp and Dr. Koehler’s statement that “teachers often have great intentions, but no idea how to begin to support these students.” This really resonated with me. In my experience, this accurately reflects many of the teachers and school employees I work with. However, it is also important to acknowledge that there are still those who struggle with supporting LGBTQ students because there is a conflict with their own beliefs. The way in which Dr. Copp and Dr. Koehler addressed this conflict by making it about safety and the importance of all students feeling safe in school is a practical way to address those who may feel conflicted.
As Dr. Copp and Dr. Koehler pointed out, we as social workers have an obligation to educate and provide school personnel with the resources necessary to support LGBTQ students. This includes helping teachers communicate with families, and supporting a trauma-informed learning environment in the classroom and throughout the school community. Inevitably, regardless of what type of school district you work in, teachers must reflect on the reasons that they have gone into the teaching profession- to help kids. For this reason, teachers must realize that they play a critical role in creating a safe environment for the LGBTQ students.


Flag This

 


Average Rating: 4stars  episode 251 response , Wednesday, February 06, 2019

By Miranda :

First, I will start out by saying that I thoroughly enjoyed listening to this interview. I believe that the work Dr. Copp and Dr. Koehler are doing is extremely important to individuals in a vulnerable population, especially in academic settings. Dealing with individuals in middle and high school, these children are at some overwhelming time periods in their lives as they are managing to identify who they are as an individual, and how they work and interact within a greater society.
Addressing LGBTQ students in both urban and rural settings is important as well due to the fact that differing geographic locations will of course bring differing populations. I personally grew up in a rather rural area, yet my collegiate setting is very diverse. In each different setting, people have very contrasting viewpoints and may view people differently. A very important topic the interviewees discussed was educating teachers about LGBTQ students and how to manage bullying and creating safe spaces for students. Many teachers may not undergo supplement training for handling bullying in the LGBTQ population and need to learn more about helping these students feel comfortable in their learning setting.
Education is the key to liberation and the start to dismantling ignorance. The work Dr. Copp and Dr. Koehler are doing is very important to promote a progressive and inclusive society.


Flag This

 


Average Rating: 5stars  growing up in a rural town, Monday, February 04, 2019

By Rebecca Adinolfe :

I admired Dr. William Koehler’s language around suicide. He said “died by suicide” rather than committed suicide, which makes it seem like a crime. The issue of bullying around LGBTQ students has become a policy issue because of the publicity it has seen recently in media. Schools are facing this because students are identifying gender and addressing issues around their sexuality at an early age, which many schools and teachers are not prepared. The question in mind is what training do these teachers need to address these issues properly and be educated? How do teachers’ attitudes differ from rural and urban populations? Overall there was no significant difference in the number of behaviors or types of behaviors they were observing among the student and faculty populations. In rural settings, there were poorer attitudes toward LGBTQ issues than in Urban. This fact resonated with me because I grew up in a small, white, Christian, town. Teachers and peers in my school didn’t recognize all the microaggressions and bullying that existed around LGBTQ issues because they had negative attitudes, to begin with, and didn’t see it as an issue at all. Social workers in schools can create awareness, educate teachers, and create a safe environment in school. Many schools have “no tolerance bullying policies,” but I do not know if many teachers fully understand what that means and therefore, how to enforce the policy. Social workers can aim to educate so that teachers and students can point out what LGBTQ discrimination looks like and how to point it out. In my rural town, I know that some people have a hard time changing their mindset, so it might be helpful to hold a meeting where the social worker guides but the teachers can speak their concerns and run the meeting. The social worker could use solution-focused techniques to address issues without making the teachers feel uncomfortable or controlled.

Flag This

 


Average Rating: 5stars  excellent research on lgbtq+ students, Monday, February 04, 2019

By Anonymous :

This podcast really resonated with me as someone who wants to be a future school social worker and identifies as queer. My hope is that I can help make schools a better environment for LGBTQ+ teens and actively help get rid of the stigma surrounding LGBTQ+ issues. Coming from a rural school myself, I was surprised to hear that they were better at seeking education. The school I came from looked down upon LGBTQ+ individuals and very few people identified as anything other than straight and cisgender. As legal protections are being taken away from LGBTQ+ students, it’s more important now than ever to make sure staff is educated and supportive of these children. Students are coming out as LGBTQ+ at a younger age and the resources to help them need to be in place. Personally, I did not feel safe exploring my sexuality until college due to strong homophobia at home. My parents were and still are actively homophobic and I have never told them how I identify. Through the use of bystander intervention theory, both Dr. Copp and Dr. Koehler brought up the important issue that bystander intervention is a process. Therefore, not everyone is born with the ability to properly interfere and people must first notice the need for change. A phrase I often like to say is that being an ally is a verb, not a noun. One must continually strive to become better and take it upon themselves to be educated on LGBTQ+ issues. I found this podcast very interesting and loved to hear what the findings were both for different grade levels and types of schools.

Flag This

 


Average Rating: 5stars  podcast review, Sunday, February 03, 2019

By Laura S. :

The work that Dr. Copp and Dr. Koehler is importatnt for the LGBTQ community in educational settings. It is critical to consider the health and well-being of this population in these arenas. The impact that schools can have on these individuals is apparent and creating safe spaces for LGBTQ kids is paramount. As stated in this podcast, it is important for educators to be familiar with issues related to gender identity in the adolescent population and to have the resources to make schools safer for this population.
Social workers can play an important role in educating staff on why individuals of the LGBTQ population are at a higher risk for suicide, bullying, mental health issues, higher absenteeism, and physical health issues. It is this education that will bring awareness to the specific challenges this group faces and in turn, hopefully create more acceptance and interventions to help this population thrive in educational settings. I found it to be a very helpful tactic when Dr. Copp and Dr. Koehler explained the issues to educators as it being important to create a safe space for all the students including LGBTQ individuals. This was helpful in creating a focus for staff and not making it an issue about personal beliefs or prejudices.
It is encouraging that so many more young people are feeling more liberated to express their sexual and gender identity freely at younger ages and acceptance has grown for LGBTQ people. In saying this, it is important to acknowledge that not all individuals are accepting and ensuring that LGBTQ people are safe is critical. Education is key in assisting this group among educators and peers. It is exciting that people like Dr. Copp and Dr. Koehler are doing the work that they do and I believe this is a hopeful step in ensuring that LGBTQ kids feel safe at school and in their lives.

Flag This

 


Average Rating: 5stars  episode 251, Thursday, January 31, 2019

By Sedaya :

This podcast was very informative because the social workers compared teachers of urban and rural schools’ views and observations on their LGBTQ students. It was interesting to see that the urban school teachers were more accepting of their LGBTQ students than the rural school teachers. However, the social workers went on to explain that many teachers do not know how to meet the needs of their LGBTQ students. That statement sparked an interest to me because as Dr. Copp stated many LGBTQ youth are more at risk for mental illness, suicidality, and bullying etc. Therefore, it is important for them to have someone to confide in because if their teachers cannot be a support to them that becomes a cause for concern. After listening to this podcast, I now realize how important it is for social workers who are educated on this topic to do trainings for faculty and staff, so they can become better supports for their students. Furthermore, this podcast has honestly educated me on the importance of having some type of knowledge of the LGBTQ community because students are coming out at younger ages; therefore whoever they confide in has to be able to be a support for them.

Flag This

 


Average Rating: 5stars  great discussion about the attitudes in schools towards lgbtq students, Wednesday, January 30, 2019

By Michael L :

I feel that this podcast did a great job of articulating some of the differences that an LGBTQ student can face whether they are in an urban or rural educational setting. I wasn’t shocked by the fact that attitudes of educators towards LGBTQ students in rural settings were more negative than those in urban settings, but I did find it encouraging that schools today (including those in rural communities) are seeking out resources to support their students and better understand what they are dealing with. When I was in high school, I feel like being a part of the LGBTQ community was still a very taboo subject that seemed to be swept under the rug. Back then, there should have been more resources made available to students and educators to help students navigate these complex issues. I think Dr. Koehler made an excellent point in the discussion of how social workers can be helpful in these situations. He touched on the idea that social workers should approach this by making it known they aren’t trying to change people’s personal beliefs on a given subject, but rather they are attempting to provide resources and education to create a better and safer environment for the students. In their discussion of bystander intervention theory, the presenters did a great job emphasizing how important exposure is to making positive changes in the attitudes of those with less experience dealing with LGBTQ issues. By breaking down some of these barriers, educators, and staff will be better equipped to notice negative behaviors once they better identify and understand the issues that LGBTQ individuals (and especially young students) can face.

Flag This

 


Average Rating: 5stars  wonderful use of minority stress theory and bystander intervention theory, Wednesday, January 30, 2019

By Liz Walsh :

This podcast jumped out to me because I remember what it was like to be in high school as an LGBTQ student, and when teachers to failed to intervene when I was in what I felt were unsafe and threatening situations, and for the school social worker to still handle it inappropriately. I thought this podcast did a wonderful job of discussing the shortcomings in these schools and more importantly, the reasons for these shortcomings, and how we can work to address them. These staff are often not intervening not because they don’t care, but because they often don’t know how or don’t confident in their ability to resolve such a situation. This made so much sense when Dr.s Copp and Koehler connected it to bystander intervention theory. I am familiar with this theory and had seen it applied in other situations, but it hadn’t occurred to me that it still applies here, even when we view teachers as an authority figure over students. They still have to go through the same five steps to appropriately intervene, and we as social workers can help with that third step of helping them feel motivated and capable to find a solution.

Flag This


DISCLAIMER: The content shared by the presenter(s) and/or interviewer(s) of each podcast is their own and not necessarily representative of any views, research, or practice from the UB School of Social Work or the inSocialWork® podcast series.