Reviews

Episode 133 - Elaine Hammond: Burnout and Self-Care in Social Work

Monday, December 09, 2013, 8:44:48 AM

Image of Elaine Hammond

Burnout and compassion fatigue are significant concerns in professional social work. Either can leave social workers feeling angry, overwhelmed, drained, and/or powerless. This can lead to disengagement from client systems as well as the work. To be effective and professional and develop in their work, social workers must learn the skills necessary to take care of themselves. In this podcast, Elaine Hammond uses a trauma-informed perspective to provide a paradigm for the creation of an individualized self-care strategy.

Download MP3 (49.3 MB)

Listener Reviews

67 Reviews
5 star:
 (50)
4 star:
 (17)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
Average Listener Review

Average Rating: 4.7 stars (67 listener reviews )

Share your thoughts with others

Create Your Own Review

Average Rating: 5stars  self-care and burnout reflection, Wednesday, August 02, 2017

By Stacee Muolo :

I really enjoyed listening to this podcast. I found it to be so enlightening, honest, and helpful. Having worked in the field for sometime I can definitely identify with many of the burnout symptoms. I appreciate the acroynm of MORPH, I think this really helps to put into perspective the balance that is needed between our work, our self, and our lives. Balance is so necessary in our lives, yet most of us are lacking in some area and trying to make up for it in another area. In this world where everything is bigger, better, faster, and instant gratification is an expectation, we forget to consider the organic elements that are most important and beneficial to our well-being. Becoming more mindful has really assisted me professionally, personally, and spiritually. I also appreciate the acknowledgement of the attention and dedication a master's degree requires. I have found myself feeling anxious and mindlessly eating and not taking care of my self to the best of my ability.



Flag This

 


Average Rating: 5stars  insightful and practical discussion on self-care in social work, Sunday, July 30, 2017

By Miranda Little-Moore :

Professor Hammond's provide an excellent overview of the importance of self care within the social work profession, as well as ways that these practices can be realistically incorporated into the daily practice of a social worker. As someone who has struggled with finding healthy care activities to practice in the past and has encountered difficulty finding time to focus on myself, this podcast made me hopeful that as I continue to evolve as a social worker, I can utilize some of the practices discussed to decompress. I particularly appreciated the attention that Professor Hammond payed to the impact that an organization can have on its worker's ability to value and engage in self-care practices. Within this podcast, the discussion surrounding organizational culture of self-care, as well as the ways that practitioners can begin to identify the environment's impact on our self care practices and continue to emphasize our own well being, helped me to begin to apply these concepts within my own experience as a developing social worker entering into the workforce.



Flag This

 


Average Rating: 5stars  episode #133, Saturday, July 29, 2017

By Angela Tinder :

Dr. Hammond reinforces that self-care is not optional for social workers---it is a necessary part of practice that allows us to function well in our relationships with clients, coworkers, and our supervisors. Early in this podcast, Dr. Hammond says something along the lines of "self-care is attending to our humanness." I was recently speaking with a colleague who was concerned about morale on her team and I recommended she start her meeting with the "three questions" from the Sanctuary Model to help "take the temperature" of the room. During that conversation, I did not frame the suggestion as being part of self-care, but now I see how these three questions "attend to the humanness" of the other people in the room too. Finally, as always, I am happy to hear Dr. Hammond elevate spirituality--however it is defined--- as an important part of humanness that deserves attention and time.

Flag This

 


Average Rating: 5stars  self -care in social work, Tuesday, July 25, 2017

By Renae M. :

One thing that stuck with me throughout this podcast was the statement that we will lose ourselves if we don't practice self-care. Self-Care helps promote our best selves and we want to ensure that we are being proactive in preventing burnout. When we are at our best, we are able to provide the best services to the people we support, which is incredibly important. Setting aside at least fifteen minutes of self-care and relaxation a day can make a huge difference.

Flag This

 


Average Rating: 5stars  important reminder for new and seasoned social workers, Monday, July 24, 2017

By Alex L.B. :

Elaine Hammond communicates a sense of understanding and practicality for implementing self care for social workers in any context. Thoughtful self care practices are not "one more thing to do" for busy social workers, but something that makes everything else we do possible. Elaine Hammond does an excellent job outlining elements of self care that can be incorporated into everyone's daily routine. She and Dr. Smyth also discuss some of the complexities of self care practice in view of increasing caseloads and organizational pressures on social workers. This podcast helped me to consider the state of my current self care practices (not very good) and offered both ideas for making a change and arguments for the importance of establishing a workable and personalized self care plan.

Flag This

 


Average Rating: 5stars  a surivior of burnout, Sunday, July 23, 2017

By Michael Guerin :

This podcast has spoken to me not only as a social work practitioner, but as a human being. Last year while working in social work position full-time, balancing a field placement, and taking classes, I could best be described as someone suffering from burnout and compassion fatigue. It was mindfulness and the continued implementation of self-care initiatives through my learning that helped to immerse myself in what Elaine Hammond refers to as the MORPH acronym. Without incorporating MORPH into our lives, we are led to face experiences that make us feel unskilled or hopeless. Not taking lunch breaks, or concerns about high caseloads, are some of the very things I endured as mentioned in this podcast. This led to continued feelings of inadequacy related to job performance as well as my role as a student in field and in the classroom. Paying attention to mindfulness and my needs in conjunction with demands of my job, I slowly began to life the blinders off of my face. Our needs are just as important as others, and yet it is apparent that many social workers, given their selfless demeanor put others before themselves. While societal perceptions may perpetuate a constant need to do so, we cannot be successful practitioners without fulfilling our own care as well. To be the best we can be as social workers means to nurture the demands of our human jobs. As noted in the podcast, we do this in the fashion of always staying inquisitive. I noticed a persistent theme in how I felt during my burnout last year and continued to ask myself “What is going on?”. Ultimately, I voiced my concerns in my job as well as in school to ultimately see a big change in how I felt. At times we carry the weight of the world but need to remember it is not all on us. This is something to remember throughout our careers. I will make note to continue my mindfulness exercises and stay curious about ways I can remain conducive to my own personal needs.



Flag This

 


Average Rating: 5stars  self care/burnout review, Thursday, May 04, 2017

By Bill Strassner :

This podcast was very informative and very helpful to listen too. It really stressed the importance of self-care. I loved how Professor Hammond described the multiple reasons why people in this profession care more about other than they do about themselves. One reason was that people have very specific reasons for choosing this field and they may have had good or bad experiences that they want to share with others or stop others from experiencing the same thing. This resonated with me because I had a very negative experience within the court system four years ago following a mistake I made leading to an arrest. Even though this was a very difficult time, I learned so much about myself and it lead me to want to go into this field to help others learn to be resilient and to help them not have to go through these same difficulties. Professor Hammond also mentions the stress of school. UB does do a good job at stressing the importance of self-care overall, but when it comes down to the individual classes, many teachers feel like they are the only class that we have leading to many bug assignments being due around the same time, causing difficulties for us students. This can lead to us burning out and not completing very good work. This can be transferred into a full time job following graduation where we put the needs of others over ourselves. This podcast helped me better understand the need for self-care because if I do not take care of myself it will lead me to burning out and eventually doing poor work with my clients which is not good.

Flag This

 


Average Rating: 5stars  self-care/burnout review, Wednesday, May 03, 2017

By Jamie Milligan :

Hearing this podcast was perfect timing for me! Finishing out the MSW program as a single mom and working full time, it’s easy to forget about staying mindful and prioritizing self-care. Practicing self-care will benefit me as a social worker primarily, but also my clients and my friends/family as well. This podcast was very insightful given my particularly stressful job and I enjoyed the incorporation of the five pillars of trust as well as the acronym MORPH. Acronyms are always very helpful for me so this was much appreciated.

Flag This

 


Average Rating: 5stars  mindfulness, Monday, May 01, 2017

By K. Aiello :

I appreciate the emphasis on caring for our humanity, starting with ourselves. Professor Hammond required the text, Peace is Every Breath, for one of her courses which explored the concept of mindfulness. Much like this text, this podcast mentions that mindfulness does not have to be formal meditation and can be as simple as paying attention to our breathing. I think these ideas are important to model and offer others, clients or co-workers, to be a successful professional. I am so guilty of putting myself second to my work and this podcast was a great discussion/reminder on putting humanity first.

Flag This

 


Average Rating: 5stars  mindfulness and meditation, Sunday, April 30, 2017

By Lorrie Johnson :

I find for me mindfulness has made an incredible impact on how I sit with a client. Being able to take that breath and make myself present with the client. I am so grateful to have had this professor, I learned so much from the practice. I was able to attend a symposium with Brenne brown and Bessel Vanderkolk and this podcast is spot on. Acknowledgment and responsibility replace blame and shame. I like that burnout is addressed as well, how we often feel inadequate, and we shift to blame and judgment. Trauma informed practice includes the pillars and how we reframe and make choices and engage with our clients. This is important to understand safety, supervision is essential and I found this in my field practice. I think that staying connected with humanity and our communtiy is an important element to staying passionate about our work.

Flag This

 


Average Rating: 5stars  great listen, Saturday, April 22, 2017

By Clare M :

I found this podcast to particulary helpful in identifying what I need personally and professionally to help me rise a social worker. Thank you for helping reflect on how I can be more mindful, spiritually connected and incorporate the trauma-informed principles into a potential professional setting.

Flag This

 


Average Rating: 5stars  podcast 133, Friday, March 31, 2017

By J. Chopra :

I thought this podcast was very insightful on the issue of self-care. Professor Hammond's use of MORPH to help understand self-care was interesting. When she was describing organization of thoughts, her distinction between judgement and assessment was particularly useful to me. By using assessment instead of judgment, a person can be open to change and movement. Her point about professionals in the help industry needing to take care of themselves personally as well as professionally was great. I found Professor Hammond's information on mindfulness very helpful and think it is a great aspect of self-care. This podcast would be helpful to anyone who needs to incorporate or refocus on self-care in their life.

Flag This

 


Average Rating: 4stars  burnout and self care, Saturday, April 30, 2016

By Brandy S. :

I found this podcast to be very informative. While I am familiar with the importance of self care to avoid burn out in your professional life, I did not really apply the principles Prof. Hammond listed in her M-O-R-P-H example. I am struck with the question, "How am I really?" We so often avoid a real answer and absently respond with, "Fine". I am going to try and be more reflective and actually know the answer to the question when asked in the future. One of the most beneficial things I have learned in my course with Prof. Hammond is to be mindful. Being present in the moment is important not only in my professional life, but I feel, even more so in my personal life. I have a 10-year old son that, sadly, I realize I have not been truly present in the moment with. Taking the time to walk away from academic responsibilities, household chores, and other "adult" responsibilities, will always be one of the most important lessons I have learned during this last semester of my Masters degree program. Taking advantage of supervision is another important part of using one's resources. I will continue this practice in my future career. It is often helpful to see a challenge from another point of view. To be effective in the social work field, I am going to need to use my resources and allow myself to depend on others, balance my work/family life, take time out for myself, and allow myself to see the humorous side, even when it may be hidden.

Flag This

 


Average Rating: 5stars  burnout and self-care review, Thursday, April 21, 2016

By Anonymous :

I really liked how Elaine talked about how we lose our sense of meaning when we do not take care of ourselves. It is important to make a self-care plan in order to take care of our selves like we want our clients to take care of theirselves. I also enjoyed that Elaine talked about feeling safe with our own caseload and talking to our supervisors about what is safe for us. Lastly, Elaine spoke about graduation and how there are many more responsibilities after a student graduates. These include student loans and finding a job. These are important aspects to think about before graduation.

Flag This

 


Average Rating: 5stars  self-care, Tuesday, April 19, 2016

By Nzor, R. :

Professor Hammond’s presentation on self-care was pretty much revealing to me, particularly as she discussed her viewpoint of self-care with the MORPH abbreviation. I like her approach of explaining Self-care by way of coming from the negative perspective. I feel like emphasizing the negative impact of burnout in a person’s life has the tendency to trigger the essence as to how one has to take self-care practice more seriously. This establishes the reality that when we don’t take care of ourselves, we can easily get sick; thus “we lose our sense of meaning in life” as she puts it. In other words, when you practice self-care you are showing compassion to yourself. Dr. Nancy Smyth’s timely summaries was also supportive as she pointed out need to acknowledge our humanity in the same way we would care for others. Thus self-care could entail being aware of your own value as a human being who deserves bliss and pleasure.
One piece of Professor Hammond’s presentation that caught my attention was her clarification on the first pillar of self-care which is Mindfulness. Mindfulness as she explained can be incorporated into our daily living to awaken our minds and cause us to experience the world with a higher level of awareness. I could relate to this per the meditation exercises I have engaged in, and I can attest to the fact that you feel better when your mind is clearer, and it eventually improves your interactions with others. She further connected the other four components perfectly from a Trauma Informed perspective with emphasis on Collaboration and Trust. A well informed podcast worth listening for the enhancement of personal and professional wellbeing.

Flag This

 


Average Rating: 4stars  organizational change and self-care, Sunday, April 17, 2016

By Sarah Richards-Desai :

Professor Hammond provides an approachable structure for understanding self-care, a concept that has been understood and described in any number of different ways. Exploring the need for self-care on a personal level, and in a mitigating sense of avoiding professional burnout and compassion fatigue, Professor Hammond shared her own acronym for organizing salient concepts such as mindfulness. She highlights the parallel process of feeling “heard” as a social worker in the workplace, as many clients will cite this factor as being imperative even beyond the type of intervention received. Professor Syms’ introduction was also helpful in describing the type of environment in which social workers may struggle or thrive. One thought that I have coming away from this podcast is that, while it is critical to conceptualize and implement self-care in personal and professional realms, meta-level change is required to improve organizational contexts not only for social workers but for their clients. I wonder to what degree becoming overly accepting of one’s circumstances could be passively enabling policymakers to continue funding cuts or imposing greater caseloads, assuming that workers will “cope” rather than self-advocate. I think both self-care and advocacy for macro-level change go hand in hand.

Flag This

 


Average Rating: 5stars  podcast 133, Thursday, April 14, 2016

By Louise :

I can not think of a better way to end my 5 year journey of fulfilling my goal of obtaining my MSW, then listening Elaine Hammond's self-care podcast! Self-care has been important, enlightening and useful to me (my family and clients) throughout my journey. I could have not come this far without practicing self-care and tending to my own personal needs. I plan on utilizing self-care practices in my everyday personal and professional life. Thank you Elaine, it has been an honor and privilege to be a student in a couple of your courses. I hope that I will always be able to check back in with this podcast as a self-help reminder, and I hope to hear more from you in the future!


Flag This

 


Average Rating: 5stars  podcast review, Friday, December 11, 2015

By Pamela Kus :

..

Flag This

 


Average Rating: 4stars  do you know yourself?, Tuesday, May 05, 2015

By LeeAnn Greenauer :

I found this podcast to be especially enlightening. Elaine really made me think about myself and the way that I treat myself. When someone asks you how you are, are you even qualified to answer? Do you even know how you are? This question made me think about myself for a long time. Additionally, if you don't know yourself, how can you possibly have a relationship with someone else? This made me think about self care and understanding oneself.
Elaine goes on to mention helpful hints about burnout and stress management that. Not only does she give mindfulness tips, but also educates on the value of a good diet and sleep. It was a great point that our body is the last priority when we are stressed. We eat unhealthy or not at all and we don't sleep properly, damaging ourselves. If we cannot have a good foundation of our body, I do not see how we can begin to have a good day, leading to more burnout and stress than imagined. It is important to take care of oneself to the maximum in this field and be able to recognize triggers and signs for burnout.

Flag This

 


Average Rating: 4stars  professional development - self-care , Tuesday, May 05, 2015

By Carly Rae :

Listening to Professor Hammond talk about self-care was very informative, especially as she discussed what self-care is according to the MORPH acronym. What I thought was most relevant was the discussion on resources. Professor Hammond mentions that it is important to take advantage of resources, such as the use of support in order to take care of oneself. From my experience in social work, I see many professionals who are unsure of when to seek that additional support when it is needed. In order to be present and effective social workers it is imperative that we know when to seek out that extra help and to accept that just because we are requiring additional resources does not mean we are inadequate at our jobs. Not only is using resources helpful in terms of our own self-care but it is also beneficial to the people we serve.

Flag This

 


Average Rating: 5stars  sw543 final assignment review , Monday, May 04, 2015

By Brooke Comley :

This was such and informative podcast, I liked particularly how she took self-care and flipped it to put it in perspective. By using the language of what self-care isn't made it easier to understand how important it is to have self-care and what can happen in the instance that its missing or we are not practicing it. She discusses how our bodies react without it and how in turn it affects our work. The idea that our work is essentially our life and if we don't have a hold on our life then we don't have a hold on our work or ability to work. I think it was a great point to make because we often forget to take care of ourselves in efforts to take care of those that we serve when we are just important and need to be taken care of as well. I also liked when she used the idea of MORPH, this is something that I think can be useful to me when practicing self care and what I need to re-focus on to bring myself back, I plan on utilizing the MORPH acronym to see if it helps.

Flag This

 


Average Rating: 5stars  sw 543 final assignment, Monday, May 04, 2015

By FENGHUA ZHANG :

Professor Hammond is a wonderful teacher teaching me about self-care. Sometimes social work is a frustrating job. However, it is still a great job to work with people in order to help them to be better. Mindfulness, finding resources, and applying trauma-informed care are the methods for establishing better self-care. Only we care about ourselves, then, we are able to care about others.



Flag This

 


Average Rating: 4stars  importance of self-care in social work, Sunday, May 03, 2015

By Alyssa Allen :

Great podcast! Not only informational but a good reminder to take care of ourselves, personally and professionally. Identifying the absence of self-care is just as important as identifying and evolving your actual self-care plan. Allowing yourself to process our emotions professionally and personally is always best practice. The idea of reframing our thoughts was really interesting, we all have and will continue to have moments where we feel “stupid”; when we miss something obvious or drop the ball on something. Placing blame or judgment on ourselves is not helpful, but the idea of learning from the mistake and allowing yourself to move on from it, is.

Flag This

 


Average Rating: 5stars  the absence of self care, Sunday, May 03, 2015

By Imran Gulamali :

What I found interesting was the way in with Prof. Hammond decided to start the podcast by essentially discussing what "self-care is not" or the absence of self-care and the resulting consequences of neglecting self care. Prof. Hammond states that neglecting self-care can cause us to "lose our sense of meaning in life; we don’t take care of our bodies; we fall into ways of thinking that aren’t entirely useful to us; our emotions begin to drive us in a reactive fashion...our sense of life meaning can really be disrupted. A lot of [our] life meaning is the work that we do."

I found those statements to be extremely powerful. I tend to think of self-care in terms of what positive self-care looks like, rather than ever considering the negative effects of not prioritizing self-care. I tend to agree with Prof. Hammond when she mentions that so much of our meaning and/or identity is wrapped up in what we do -- especially as social workers in a helping profession. A lack of self-care can negatively affect how we perceive our work, which can alter the way in which we perceive ourselves. Understanding the importance of self-care from this perspective makes it all the more important that we take time to prioritize our own needs.


Flag This

 


Average Rating: 4stars  review on burnout, Saturday, May 02, 2015

By Rachel Sudore :

I enjoyed listening to this podcast and found it to be very insightful. I thought the part about the five pillars concerning trust and collaboration to be most helpful. I have been in situations in the workplace where I was unable to trust my employers. This was due to agreements not being followed through regarding my job duties. I ended up experiencing burnout at this job site. It is important to recognize the correlation between the five pillars and burn out in order to prevent this from occurring in all aspects of ones life, personally and professionally. In regards collaboration, a person's co-workers can be a great support system. This support can help to avoid burnout by avoiding trying to accomplish everything without help from anyone. Also, one's co-workers can offer different perspectives on situations that can assist in helping clients.


Flag This

 


Average Rating: 5stars  strength for the journey, Monday, April 27, 2015

By Paula :

I found Elaine's podcast to be an enlightening and inspiring overview of how to practice social work self-care. She uses an acronym (MORPH) to help listeners remember to be Mindful, Organized, Resourceful, and utilize the Pillars of trauma-informed care and Humanity. Focusing on our own care and compassion for ourselves helps us to help others, and gives us the strength we need for our journey in the helping profession.

Flag This

 


Average Rating: 5stars  self care, Monday, April 27, 2015

By Tonya Myles-Day :

I would have to agree with Elaine on the reasons many of us choose the Social Work Profession. Indeed I had some horrible experiences in my life that I would never want anyone to endure. However, I had some awesome people in my life that encouraged me to take my life back. I know this is why I chose this profession. I have been a caretaker my entire life and it can be draining. Putting others needs before your own in commendable, but learning where to draw the line is necessary. I better understand today the things I need to do for myself to ensure I am well mentally, emotionally and spiritually.


Flag This

 


Average Rating: 5stars  sw 543 final assignment, Friday, April 24, 2015

By Alexandra Mastoras :

In this podcast, I found several things as particularly relevant and significant for social workers and emerging professionals in this field. I appreciated the informational segment in the beginning of the podcast defining burnout and compassion fatigue. I think it is important for us to understand the meanings of these terms in order to ensure our own self-care in regards to these issues. Also I enjoyed that self-care was described from an alternative point of view, specifically being the “negative” side. I believe that many times, social workers experience this negative side, as the lack or absence of self-care.

Another point which is specifically related to social workers, was regarding caseloads, and knowing what your personal limit is as far as how much you can handle in comparison to how many cases you are required to carry. This is something that requires awareness and good communication. In relation to a sense of awareness is mindfulness. This was mentioned in regards to the acronym MORPH. This is a useful tactic for self-care awareness and practice. Lastly, it was interesting to discuss the principles of trauma-informed care from the perspective of a worker in a human service related position. One of the principles which I find increasingly relevant is collaboration. Collaboration was discussed including communication methods. Methods of communication are largely becoming technological, and require some level of comfort for utilization. This is important as forms of communication between practitioners and clients are slowly transforming, including phone, text messaging, and email instead of face to face contact. This will require workers to remain cognizant of their ability to utilize such methods, and level of comfort in doing so.


Flag This

 


Average Rating: 5stars  importance of self care, Friday, April 17, 2015

By Alissa Madden :

I truly enjoyed this podcast on self-care presented by Elaine Hammond. The podcast was very influential and inspiring to a realm of professions on the importance that self-care. Often times, we as professionals get caught up in our area of work and forget, or do not make time to ensure that our own personal health and moral are maintained. I really like MORPH as the pillars of self-care and plan to use that in my own life to balance the life and work relationship.

Flag This

 


Average Rating: 5stars  review: burnout and self-care in social work - elaine hammond, Monday, February 02, 2015

By Samantha C :

I truly enjoyed listening to this podcast. Seeing as the potential for stress and burnout seem so frequently acknowledged among social workers; it was very uplifting to learn about Hammond’s MORPH practice, and how it addressed so many aspects in maintaining a healthy personal and professional life. I appreciated how Hammond’s ideas really resonate with social work and other helping careers, but also how MORPH can relate to and aid workers of all professions. One of the most enlightening concepts that Hammond made was the fact that most social workers come to the field for very specific reasons; so that the expectations they place upon themselves, along with rigorous societal demands, can truly lead an individual to put everything else above their own humanity. Hammond’s ‘MORPHing’ practice demonstrates how individuals can actively meet their needs as humans to enable a more meaningful professional life, which can truly bolster our potential to bring more compassion into the world.

Flag This

 


Average Rating: 5stars  very informative , Wednesday, May 14, 2014

By Damaris Mason :

I really enjoyed Professor Hammonds podcast on self care and burn out. I think this podcast was relevant to anyone, regardless of the profession, because many different jobs can be very stressful. I appreciated how she talked about the importance of taking a step back and finding time to meet our own personal needs to prevent burn out. I found that her self-care technique (MORPH) was very helpful and I plan on incorporating this practice into my current job and my potential job as well. I thought this podcast was very informative and very beneficial for anyone who experiences stress in their job.


Flag This

 


Average Rating: 5stars  burn-out and self care in social work review, Wednesday, May 07, 2014

By Chelsea Weaver :

Professor Hammond’s podcast on burnout and self-care in social work was very insightful. Prof Hammond discusses various reasons as to why social workers neglect their own needs. As a social work graduate student and full-time employee, it is often difficult for me to find time for myself. Managing my time between work, school and my personal life can be very challenging. Prof Hammond’s suggestions about prioritizing our time, goals and expectations was impactful. As social workers, it is in our nature to want to solve every problem and help every client, yet we don’t consider our own needs. Taking a step back and finding time to meet our personal needs is very important and can help prevent burn-out. I found the MORPH acronym especially useful. This self-care approach will assist me through graduate school, as well as in my future career. This podcast demonstrates that self-care is important, not only in the social work field, but in any field of work. Self-care will not only improve our quality of life, but will help us become effective social workers. This podcast is very useful, and can be beneficial to anyone in the helping profession.







Flag This

 


Average Rating: 5stars  great podcast!, Tuesday, May 06, 2014

By Cally Graham :

This was an excellent podcast regarding self-care and burn-out. This is would be beneficial for not only people in the social work field, but really for anyone, especially those that experience stress at their job. I really enjoyed how Dr. Hammond looked at the principals of trauma informed care and how to utilize those when looking at a job and considering what is important to you. It was a create reminder that even simple things like taking a walk during lunch or be mindful of your breath can have such an impact on your day and your overall quality of life.

Flag This

 


Average Rating: 5stars  burnout and self-care in social work podcast, Tuesday, May 06, 2014

By Rachel :

I found that listening to this podcast helped me to conceptualize and clarify my own self-care plan, especially in the explanation of MORPH as pillars of self-care. Elaine Hammond gave some insight into the challenges professionals face with self-awareness, expression and care. Many of her points about academic and agency culture, and the humanity of trauma-informed self-care really resonated with me. A must for anyone who works with people.

Flag This

 


Average Rating: 4stars  podcast 133, Monday, May 05, 2014

By Sharon Wangene :

This podcast was very useful in tying in self-care with trauma-informed care which I think was great! It was a clear piece on self-care and I wish I had heard it before. The use of the acronym MORPH also makes it easier to remember. It is a great conversation for students and professionals to listen to.


Flag This

 


Average Rating: 5stars  mindfulness, Monday, May 05, 2014

By Jenn Monteith :

Professor Hammond’s podcast on burnout and self-care was extremely informative and appropriate for the work we do as Social Workers, especially for individuals just starting out in the field. Keep in mind that this information can be applied to every individual, professional or not. She discusses how in the Social Work profession we set such high expectations for our professional self and worry so much about if we are helping others effectively that we tend to ignore our own self-care leading to burnout. Professor Hammond discusses five elements of self-care that aid in avoiding and dealing with burnout. These are being mindful, effectively organizing thoughts, using resources, understanding and following the five pillars of trauma-informed care, and being respectful of our humanity. These five elements can be remembers using the acronym MORPH. For me, being mindful is extremely effective. Professor Hammond provides a brief illustration of mindfulness stating that being mindful is not always using meditation; it can simply be taking a single breath and paying attention to your present moment. You can also be mindful through thought, paying attention to what you are currently thinking and how this is affecting your present behaviours. Being mindful is just one of the five elements of self-care.

Flag This

 


Average Rating: 4stars  self-care, Monday, May 05, 2014

By Patrick :

Professor Hammond’s podcast was very informative on the importance of caring for other as social workers, but more importantly making sure we take care of ourselves as we do with clients. If we physically, emotionally, and psychologically stay healthy as a social worker it helps be a better professional. In the podcast, Professor Hammond offers a way to think about our relationships with ourselves. We should know how important it is to treat ourselves like we treat others. It is important to pay attention to the present and in the moment. Mindfulness is the way of staying in the present and taking care of ourselves. Her acronym and practice of MORPH is very powerful as it intersects with the pillars of trauma informed care in order to care for ourselves before stressors spiral out of control and consume us.

Flag This

 


Average Rating: 4stars  podcast review, Monday, May 05, 2014

By Jason Domingo :

I enjoyed this podcast and how the principles of trauma-informed care were tied into self-care. I never considered the principles of trauma-informed care as they pertain to self-care. Some people struggle with self-care, I am not one of those people. No matter what I have going on in my life, how stressed I am, or how much I have to do, I always find time to take care of myself. I have found that if I do not find time for self-care I will not last very long in this field.

Flag This

 


Average Rating: 5stars  review, Monday, May 05, 2014

By Kristine Stull :

There were a few things that seemed relevant to me in this podcast. The thing that stood out to be the most in the podcast was one of the first topics discussed. This topic was the need for graduate students to prioritize their academia pursuits above everything else, and how this sets up an expectation that our simple humanity is always secondary to some material goal. Generally I believe this stood out to me because I am graduating soon and I’m thinking about all the little and/or big things that I have put on the back burner these past 2 years that I get to fully engage in again. Whether it be reading a book for fun, staying up late with friends to talk or watch TV instead of researching well into the night or the dreaded “all-nighter” the finalize a paper. This also made me reflect on how I don't want to engage in this same way of life when I enter into the professional world. Yes, my job will be of absolute important to me but so will my family, friends, sleep, spiritual life and general self care.

Flag This

 


Average Rating: 4stars  combining self-care and the five pillars of trauma-informed care, Monday, May 05, 2014

By Katie Keith :

What I found most interesting and beneficial was how Elaine tied in the five pillars of trauma-informed care with self-care as professionals. She explained how our own work environment may induce trauma and provided preventative steps we can take against this.


Flag This

 


Average Rating: 5stars  tic and self care, Saturday, May 03, 2014

By Daniel Auflick :

Everything Professor Hammond had to say is important for aspiring social workers to hear. Self care comes easier to some of us than others, and like the clients we serve there is no blanket approach to solving problems. What works for me and might not for the next clinician.
What truly resonated with me was utilizing a trauma informed care framework to look at self care practices. Too often TIC is utilized for clients, but never clinicians. In order for an organization to be TI then clinicians must practice what they preach by treating themselves and their work in a trauma informed manner.


Flag This

 


Average Rating: 5stars  burnout and self care: being human, Saturday, May 03, 2014

By Sandra Lord :

This podcast addresses a very important question of why caring professionals whose job is to care for others have difficulty caring for themselves. Professor Hammond addresses this point quite well and provides two possible reasons, which are both related to the high expectations these professionals place upon themselves. I appreciated the break down of the Sanctuary model into three parts that can be used everyday by caring professionals. The breakdown includes asking oneself everyday: (1) how am I feeling? (2) what do I need or what is my goal? and (3) who can help me? I found this conceptualization quite helpful and appreciated how this can give professionals permission to look at themselves and address their humanity. I appreciate both the mindfulness and trauma informed pillars used to discuss this issue and as a professional in the social work field acknowledge the importance of implementing a self care plan. Over all this podcast was helpful in acknowledging some of the beliefs of many caring professionals as well as identified ways in which professionals can be kind to themselves and avoid burnout or compassion fatigue.

Flag This

 


Average Rating: 5stars  burnout and self care, Thursday, May 01, 2014

By Yvette Bennefield :

I found this podcast very helpful. It has given me insight as to using mindfulness to beginning my career in a healthier way, preventing moments of burnout within the helping field. I wished I had this self care training when I was working as a medical social worker and in a environment where a lot of self negative talk and grief was ramp pit. Thank you for sharing the five TIC principles (MORPH).

Flag This

 


Average Rating: 4stars  self care, Thursday, May 01, 2014

By Brittany Kay :

As a budding social work professional, I found Professor Hammond’s podcast extremely useful. Specifically, the suggestion that we tend to prioritize things like academic pursuits, financial goals, and our own high expectations over our basic humanity rang true for me in terms of my own experience and that of peers I’ve observed. Sometimes it is truly difficult to take a step back and acknowledge our needs as needs. The MORPH acronym seems to provide an easy-to-remember, all-encompassing approach to self-care that will undoubtedly assist me and others in the development of strategies to ensure that we acknowledge and support our own humanity and therefore the humanity of those we seek to help.


Flag This

 


Average Rating: 5stars  burnout self care in social work review, Wednesday, April 30, 2014

By Ashlela Thomas :

The podcast was very informative and expressed the importance of self-care. Social Workers as well as other professionals have heard of or experienced “burnout” at some point in their careers. Burnout was addressed in the podcast by explaining the symptoms and compassion fatigue. Compassion fatigue occurs and most people do not know that it is happening. Self-care and ability to identify when it could possibly occur are the main points addressed such as not getting enough sleep, maintaining a nutritional diet, lack of exercise, and not being able to take care of oneself. Self-care needs to be utilized by professionals as a preventive measure. As students, we experience how effective self-care can be helpful as we have to not only juggle school (classes, assignments, and internships), work, family/personal life, which can lead to very little time for self-care to be implemented into our lives. There are of course other reasons why a person cannot complete self-care techniques. Self-care is important and in the end, it cannot only improve the quality of the individual’s life but also the quality of work given to the clients and the agency. This podcast is very helpful, and is a great tool for future employers and other professionals to view.

Flag This

 


Average Rating: 5stars  burn-out and self care, Tuesday, April 29, 2014

By Chelsea McMinn :

This podcast was very informational and full of relevant material. It was nice to hear staff members recognizing the way that students are encouraged to prioritize. No doubt school and coursework is important and is a high priority, however life goes on while we are in school and self-care is a must. During the podcast it is mentioned how little self-care is actually prioritized or practiced.
The piece about safety really caught my attention. It has been my experience that safety is usually discussed as it’s own category, however it makes sense that it would be a sub category of self-care. I liked that it was separated into physical and emotional (physical being parking lot safety, calling for help in an office, etc. and emotional focusing on feeling safe in your job position, as well as with adequate supervision). I find that my field placement agency, and now my place of employment, does a very nice job of providing excellent supervision and making sure that staff members are physically safe. When I think about self-care though, I feel that we are all always burnt out. This was also discussed in the podcast. There are many legitimate reasons why professionals, and my coworkers and I as an example, don’t take the time for self-care. I wish that there was a way I could implement something at my workplace to encourage and promote self-care and maybe even provide incentives or lessen the natural consequences for taking time away from the job.



Flag This

 


Average Rating: 4stars  burnout and self-care, Tuesday, April 29, 2014

By Nina Wallace :

I really enjoyed listening to this podcast. I am currently a domestic violence counselor and I listen to a lot of horrible stories on a daily basis. Compassion fatigue happens often and most of the time people don't even realize they are experiencing it. Professor Hammond gave a lot of good tips and reminders about sleep, nutrition, exercise and taking care of ourselves. I liked the MORPH acronym and I will do my best to follow it from now on. I think mindfulness and being present in the moment is very important and will only help us to be the best professionals we can be. I have been trying to practice mindfullness more and I find it very helpful. I found it very interesting when she talked about the specific reasons why we go into the field of social work and the high expectations that we put on ourselves. I've never really thought about all the expectations that I put on myself and how that can contribute to burnout. I also agree that there is a lot of pressure to pay off student loans and so many people work more than one job just to keep up with all their bills and loans. There are many reasons why social workers become burnt out and it is so important for all of us to practice self-care.

Flag This

 


Average Rating: 4stars  self - care, Tuesday, April 29, 2014

By Kelly Warren :

I found this podcast to be very informative as an aspiring social worker. Elaine addresses the effects that the absence of self-care can have on an individual. I agree that self-care is an important skill to practice in both your personal and professional lives. While it is not unusual for social workers to address and be mindful of client’s needs they tend to neglect one or more areas of self-care for themselves. Elaine highlights various explanations as to why social workers tend to neglect their own self-care. It is important to be aware of why we don’t focus on self-care so we can pay attention to these issues. We all lead busy lives and have a variety of excuses why we don’t take better care of ourselves. If we don’t take better care of ourselves we may not be in any condition to be able to take care of others.

The three burning questions provide insight into our behavior and allow us to be honest with ourselves on what we can handle as a professional and what we cannot. Elaine refers to an example of a co-worker making a mistake at work and participating in negative self-talk. After some time this co-worker was able to briefly remove herself from the situation and gain perspective on the situation and her response to it. This allowed me to think of situations where I have made mistakes. In the past, I have felt very discouraged and demonstrate negative self-talk similar to the person mentioned in the example. This example shows the importance of briefly stepping away from an overwhelming situation.

Flag This

 


Average Rating: 5stars  burnout and self-care in social work , Tuesday, April 29, 2014

By Darcy Unruh :

I thoroughly enjoyed this podcast, especially the funky music at the beginning and end!! I think the issue of burnout is relevant to any work environment and learning about the reasons why it happens and it's impacts are important to understand for everyone. Being physically, emotionaly and psychologically healthy in your line of work helps you to be the best employee you can be. Also, the idea of finding a method of stress-reduction that's realistic and enjoyable for you is one of the most important first steps. When we don't take care of ourselves we may loose a sense of meaning in life, we may not take care of our bodies, our ways of thinking become distorted, our emotions cause us to react, and it can distort our sense of self-meaning. These some of the most important things to take away from this podcast because they really help us to re-evaluate ourselves and our methods of personal health and care. Elaine has helped me to develop better methods of self-care and I think this podcast has the potential to do the same thing for other listeners!!

Flag This

 


Average Rating: 4stars  episode 133-review, Tuesday, April 29, 2014

By Katie Burns :

I think that this is cruical in the social work field no matter what line of work the social worker is doing. This particular podcast focuses on trauma informed care principles and how important they are to maintain in a social work practice. I think often times we mention self-care and trauma informed care in classes or presentations but sometimes negelect to incorporate it in our daily practice. This presentation touched on that. Its important to practice self-care to prevent burn out. I myself know that if i didnt have a self-care plan for while i was at my agency and then one for outside of work i would definetly feel the effects of burn out.

Flag This

 


Average Rating: 5stars  self-care, Sunday, April 27, 2014

By Shana Lee :

I personally thought this podcast was quite inspirational & I feel this interview should be played with in one of our classes for students to listen to. First off, I thought Elaine's input on the absence of self-care was well said. Stating that we lose ourselves as human-beings by losing our appearance, motivation and proper decision making. We tend to be a people pleaser and only focus on our professional role for our clients but never on our own self. Elaine spoke about teaching those in the law department about self-care but first focused on trauma informed practice and discussing the five pillars within out professional work department. I thought bring in trauma informed practice was a great way to bring in the importance of self-care. This made me realize as a professional vicarious trauma and self-care go hand in hand. Vicarious trauma (VT) can affect individuals, such as social workers. Social workers tend to have compassion for other humans, so individuals who work in this field tend to feel committed or responsible to help others. Therefore VT can have a negative impact on those who care.
Since I plan on working with trauma survivors in the near future, it is important to know how VT may affect me in the long run. This interview helped me realize the link between VT and self-care, on how if you do not take care of your self mentally & physically out side of the work place then it can ultimately effect you within the work setting. Elaine's example on the trauma informed practice was very beneficial and make you think as a professional and as a person with your own identity.

Flag This

 


Average Rating: 5stars  the importance of self-care, Tuesday, April 22, 2014

By Theresa Canavan :

This podcast was honestly one of the best podcasts I have listened to in my time in the SSW at UB. I have had the pleasure of taking a couple classes with Professor Hammond and she is always sending the message of self-care! Her knowledge on this topic is vast and her ideas or creative insight in regards to solution for lack of self-care are easy to complete. I enjoy the MORPH acronym and believe that we all should be more MINDFUL on a regular basis. We read a book this semester in the professional development seminar about being more mindful and more aware of our surroundings. I have implemented parts of the book into my own life and honestly can say that I feel less stressed in certain situations and believe that I am more aware and mindful of my own well-being. With that being said, there is still so much to learn. As mentioned in the podcast, we live in a culture that does not necessarily encourage self-care or embrace humanity.We, as Elaine mentioned, need to care for ourselves like we care for others. Many agencies promote self care but don't necessarily allow action for self-care. Burn-out, self-neglect, and compassion fatigue all are extreme concerns in our profession as well as in many other professions. We need to be aware and encouraging of our peers as well as of ourselves to take care of ourselves. As Professor Hammond mentioned, in the absence of self-care we lose ourselves and a sense of meaning". I am motivated to continue being aware of the need for my own self-care in addition to that of my family, friends, and co-workers. With the end of the semester approaching, I am ready for the challenge!

Flag This

 


Average Rating: 5stars  self care, Monday, April 21, 2014

By Tammy Boutilier :

I thoroughly enjoyed this podcast and it really shed some light on self care and how it coincides with the 5 Principles of Trauma Informed Care. We often talk about using TIC on our clients, but forget about our own needs in the process! I also loved how Professor Hammond stated that we should replace blaming and shaming with acknowledgement and responsibility. I have often felt that placing blame on ourselves or others and calling people on their mistakes is a counterproductive way to learn from our mistakes and move forward! Overall, I thought the podcast was very enlightening and has really given me permission to express my needs and ask for help!


Flag This

 


Average Rating: 5stars  a very well thought out plan for self-care, Saturday, April 19, 2014

By Don Pool :

Self-care is a subject that is thought of as critical in Social Work and other professions, but is rarely practiced well. Supervisors, university faculty, and fellow social workers tend to praise the value of self-care, but, when it comes to practicing, they take a "do as I say, not as I do" approach. One reason may be the perceived difficulty and time involved in developing and following a self-care plan. In this Podcast, Elaine proposes a simple plan to implement and follow a self-care plan that is easy to follow and manage. Every social worker and helping professional could benefit from this type of plan.


Flag This

 


Average Rating: 5stars  important for anyone providing care to others, Saturday, April 19, 2014

By Kim Bennett :

I have been fortunate to be in several classes that Professor Hammond has taught. Her consistent reinforcement for need to practice self care is showcased in this podcast. She spells out clearly the reasons why social work practitioners (and others providing care) are at risk for burnout, compassion fatigue and self neglect. Taking if from the negative, she then shares the acronym "MORPH" as the framework for practicing self care. Easy to understand, it provides practical guidelines to follow. Her emphasis throughout the podcast to prioritize our humanity will stay forefront in my thoughts as I move forward in my career.

Flag This

 


Average Rating: 4stars  self care , Sunday, April 13, 2014

By Megan Urbanski :

This was a great podcast on self care. The MORPH acronym make it very easy to remember some self care strategies. I think the idea of remembering that we are humans is of extreme importance because so many of us see ourselves only as professionals when this is simply not the case. This podcast also did a great job of talking about the five pillars of self care and how they relate not only to our clients, but to ourselves. Perhaps the easiest thing to remember from this podcast, and that which i will try to remind my friends, colleagues, and clients is that in times of stress- "breathe and eat chocolate!"

Flag This

 


Average Rating: 5stars  review- rosso, Saturday, April 12, 2014

By Katilyn Rosso :

This podcast was very informative about the importance of self-care. Many workers in the field have heard of burnout and ways to prevent it. However, being able to practice self-care is different than talking about it. Workers need to be able to recognize burnout as it is happening to then selves as well as others. Workers whom are experiencing burnout are often too overwhelmed to address the problem and solve it. Workers whom are witnessing others with burnout often do not know how to approach it. This podcast explained the symptoms of burnout and compassion fatigue, but also gave some ways that workers can recognize these symptoms in themselves and others. Using self-care can help improve the quality of an individual’s life. Professor Hammond’s podcast is important for workers because it is actually practical for fieldwork and it really works.



Flag This

 


Average Rating: 4stars  elaine hammond- podcast review, Thursday, April 10, 2014

By Bridgitte B :

I feel as though this podcast will be valuable to any social worker, or any person working in the helping field. I found the M.O.R.P.H. acronym to be an easy tool for us to remember the importance of self-care. Elaine Hammond discussed how in the absence of self-care, many professionals begin to loose a sense of life meaning, or begin to only see ourselves as professionals. I found it very interesting when Elaine discussed the variety of reasons why social workers tend to put others before themselves. Reasons such as the time and money we have invested into our careers can put a large amount of pressure and expectations on us as professionals. I agree with her when she mentioned that academia in some cases may be doing a poor job of encouraging self-care. As a student, I have been encouraged to consider academics above everything else. At times I find myself exhausted, forgetting to eat meals, and having no time for down time with friends and family. These are all dynamics for self-care that should always be tended to! I do not remember one specific course, or unit that specifically focused on self-care in my undergraduate career. Hammond’s concept of mindfulness, and paying attention to the present moment, is a great tool. I believe that in order to best serve our clients, we first need to best serve ourselves, through self-care.

Flag This

 


Average Rating: 5stars  self-care podcast review, Wednesday, April 09, 2014

By Angela M. :

Great podcast- thanks Elaine! It was great to hear you speak more in-depth about some of the pieces you have been sharing with us through the on-line prof. dev. course. I strongly recommend that this type of podcast be mandatory for ALL students in the beginning of their graduate school career. Students are informed of on-line resources on the school website, but I personally like this format better. I think incorporating this type of assignment is great way to ensure students receive the information.

More specifically re: the content, I typically find the discussion re: why many enter the field of swk to be interesting, and I feel the need to point out that not all sw students join the profession due to personal trauma experiences. I know this is sort of obvious, but there is definitely an 'other' niche of folks who are simply deeply passionate about helping others, in addition to envisioning a better system of providers.

Lastly, I really appreciated the MORPH acronym; I see Elaine as a bit of a guru in the self-care world and I enjoyed listening to her share in her knowledge. In particular, the discussion re: resources struck a cord- a reminder that we too have needs! And we are worthy of having those needs met. I have 3 children, so it has been my life's work to tend to the needs of others for what seems like forever! But as a caretaker, this is as it should be. Once school is done, I will once again strive for more balance in my life.

Flag This

 


Average Rating: 5stars  self care, Tuesday, February 11, 2014

By Karan :

The above podcast is very important for peoples of all professions to consider. Self-care, especially in the human services field and medical field, is often largely ignored or not given its due. Elaine Hammond’s thoughts on self-care acknowledge the fact that people can be vicariously exposed to incidents, stress, and/or trauma through every day and/or work experiences that if not dealt with can build up and become problematic over time. She brings attention to our shared humanity and resulting needs that all people have. In particular, her acronym and practice of MORPH is very powerful as it intersects with the pillars of trauma informed care in order to care for ourselves before stressors/concerns build up rather than after the fact. In particular, social work is a field that places a focus on “the other” as Hammond states. A continued focus on “the other” creates a habit of putting ourselves last. “The other” can be work expectations, clients, situations, family, etc… If we continually float our energy to all other areas, but we do not take the time to float energy, reserve energy, or refuel ourselves how can we continue on in our work? Steeped in mindfulness practice, MORPH represents a great way to be better at identifying our needs, making a plan, and executing a plan according to the need. If done as a daily practice, perhaps we will be able to refuel and decrease the negative effects of stress on our daily life and over extended periods of time. It goes to show that using trauma informed principles on a daily basis for us, others, and environments will move to create more positive and strength based environments in which we can better work, play, and grow.

Flag This

 


Average Rating: 4stars  stressing the importance of self-care, Monday, February 10, 2014

By Laura Laramay :

I found this podcast to be very informational and informative as a future social worker. I agree that self-care is important due to my work or school experience and tend to prioritize taking care of others over myself. I think that this is a common trait in social workers and something that we need to be mindful of when going into this profession. Hammond brought up a good point when she said that academia tends to ignore self-care and focus of the end product at the expense of the individual. I found Hammond's M.O.R.P.H. analogy to be very intuitive because she ties self-care into concepts that are already central to social work practice, such as the pillars of Trauma-Informed Care and mindfulness. It made a somewhat abstract concept a little more concrete for myself and was better able to understand its true meaning. I have had experience in using the Sanctuary Model, so I could really see what the question fit into the concept of self-care. It made me feel better that Hammond brought up that it is normal to feel that we aren't good enough or cut out for this job at times because it did not make it seem wrong to fail at times or question yourself. Hammond also brought up a good point during the podcast when she said that assessment leads to improvement and change because it order for treatments or interventions to be effective they regularly need to be evaluated and revised if necessary. By breaking down the self-care into the categories of body, sleep, movement, and eating, she gave us concrete ways for us to evaluate how we are taking care of ourselves and where there is room for improvement. I think that the overall message of taking as good of ourselves as we do our clients and needing overall health in order to be effective social workers is something that I am going to take with me throughout my practice.

Flag This

 


Average Rating: 5stars  social workers are human beings first..., Monday, February 03, 2014

By Alla :

Professor Hammond’s discussion of self-care within a trauma-informed perspective is engaging and effortless, providing a window into the challenges of compassionate social workers. It is easy to lose sight of how allowing more compassion for ourselves allows us to reach that goal. While it is not unusual for social workers to give priority to caring for others, we may often disregard our own needs, making sure the professional self and its expectations are satisfied first and foremost. Thus, unveiling the first principle of self-care, Professor Hammond brings mindfulness to the forefront, reminding us about the importance of staying in the moment, being present, as the first step on the way to creating openness and moving away from judgment, especially when there is a disconnect. Professor Hammond also takes the time to examine some possible causes of compassion fatigue and burnout, bringing our attention to the culture in our society, where our humanity is secondary to almost everything else that comes first. She gives us permission to tend to our needs, advising to take the time to improve the relationship we have with ourselves first, acknowledging our significance as human beings. If someone asks: “How are you?” And you respond: “Busy” or “Tired,” you will benefit from listening to this podcast. This is a detailed introduction that I would recommend not only to those employed with the social services, but their friends, family and loved ones.

Flag This

 


Average Rating: 5stars  importance of self-care, Friday, January 31, 2014

By Kaylyn B :

Professor Hammond’s podcast was very informative on the importance of self-care. She explained that for many work is often the meaning of life. In the absence of self care we lose this sense of meaning and things start to negatively impact our life. She pointed out that self care requires us to acknowledge our humanity and take care of ourselves as we would others. So often we find ourselves trying so hard to help others we neglect the help we need. This reminded me of the term “secondary trauma” and how often this may happen in our line of work. It is important to be able to recognize when this is happening and use self care. If self care is not used we could find ourselves burning out or letting negative feelings impact the counseling relationship with a client. The podcast pointed out how our culture values putting our humanity second to everything else. It is important in a society like our own to take the time and use the interventions Professor Hammond mentioned like mindfulness. Mindfulness can be applied to many different aspects in life. It requires paying attention to the moment and being present in the here and now. This is an intervention that will help to improve relationships with ourselves and others.


Flag This

 


Average Rating: 5stars  reflection on self-care podcast, Thursday, January 30, 2014

By Rachel Serour :

This podcast caught my attention because it is a relevant topic no matter the direction in the field you take. will be helpful. I thought a great deal about Hammond’s discussion on how academics and schooling does a poor job of teaching self-care to their students. It has been drilled into our brains that school work comes first and everything else is secondary. I have been a full-time student for about 18 years, and I continue to notice how the lifestyle of a student has shaped my way of thinking. For example, I had trouble choosing what major and field to pursue once it came time, because I was so used to enrolling in courses that were required instead of thinking about what subjects I actually enjoyed. This connects to Hammond’s idea of mindfulness. She gave an example of how we tend to simply answer the greeting question “how are you” with “good” without thinking about how we truly are in that moment. In addition, she speaks about how we treat ourselves poorly by engaging in negative self-talk. Like many others, if I make a mistake, I am quick to judge and blame myself. With a trauma informed care frame of mind, we should know how important it is to treat ourselves like we treat others. If your friend made a mistake, you would not call them stupid. We should treat ourselves with the same respect, understanding, and compassion in which we would to someone else who made a mistake. When Hammond spoke about shame and self-blame, I also began to think of the message from the fable “The Bridge.” As social workers, our goal is to help others help themselves, not to do all of the work for them. Just as a social worker cannot help a client who cannot help his or herself, the social worker cannot help a client when he or she does not engage in adequate self-care. It is important to think of your own well-being, in addition to the well-being of others, in order to maximize success for both you and the clients in which you assist throughout your career.

Flag This

 


Average Rating: 5stars  the importance of being mindful of oneself , Wednesday, January 29, 2014

By Samantha Koury :

Professor Hammond does a wonderful job explaining the importance of self-care and how professionals often get caught in certain places that prevent them from taking care of themselves properly. As social workers, we learn that it is crucial to be present in the moment with our clients. However, paying attention to the present moment in regards to oneself is not necessarily stressed in the same fashion. In fact, Professor Hammond argues that the nature of our society and academia results in our humanity falling to the back burner in the face of material goals. She reminds us that even if our job is to care for and help others, we cannot be in a place to do that effectively unless we are mindful of our own humanity. We are humans with needs first and professionals second. Professor Hammond breaks down her experience and thoughts on self-care in such a way that not only incorporates trauma-informed practice, but can be easily identified with. She also discusses new and interesting findings on self-care practices such as sleep, nutrition and movement. Professor Hammond is clearly passionate about her work and educating others. I thoroughly enjoyed listening to this podcast.

Flag This

 


Average Rating: 5stars  an important reminder of the humanity of social workers, Wednesday, January 29, 2014

By Steven Halady :

In this podcast, Professor Hammond illustrates the huge impact that theory can have on our lives and practice. Thinking through the theory of trauma-informed care, she constructs a model for self-care and provides a valuable lens through which social workers and others can make sense of their work and relationships with clients. However, even more importantly, Professor Hammond offers a way to think about our relationships with ourselves. She reminds us that we are human persons first, and that it is our humanity that supports and makes possible our work as social workers. If we don’t care for our whole Self, and focus only on our professional Self, we will be less able to effectively serve the people and the moral vision that brings us to social work to begin with. In this way, Professor Hammond’s model of self-care is a beautiful example of a human-rights perspective in action, an approach to social work that remains grounded in the moral dignity of ALL persons – including social workers.

Flag This

 


Average Rating: 5stars  excellent discussion, Tuesday, January 28, 2014

By Stephanie :

This podcast was very informative. Many people in the mental health field have heard of burnout and ways to prevent it. However, sometimes many workers may be too busy or too involved with their work to realize that what they are experiencing is in fact burnout. At this point, sometimes workers may be too overwhelmed to do anything about it. This diminishes their ability to be a successful social worker. This podcast helped me to not only recognize the symptoms of burnout and compassion fatigue, but also some ways that I can recognize these symptoms in myself. In addition, Dr. Hammond discussing the importance of self-care and ways we can implement it in our own lives. This helped me become aware of what I need to change in order to be mindful of what things I need to devote more time to and what overwhelms me in order to be a successful social worker.

Flag This


DISCLAIMER: The content shared by the presenter(s) and/or interviewer(s) of each podcast is their own and not necessarily representative of any views, research, or practice from the UB School of Social Work or the inSocialWork® podcast series.