Reviews

Episode 85 - Dr. Stella Resko: Risk Factors for Early Treatment Dropout Among Women with Co-Occurring Substance Use Disorders and PTSD

Monday, November 28, 2011, 9:50:51 AM

Image of Dr. Stella Resko

In this episode, Dr. Stella Resko discusses her research examining the role of substance use, PTSD, and environmental barriers in contributing to early treatment dropout.

Download MP3 (20.9 MB)

Listener Reviews

15 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
Average Listener Review

Average Rating: 4.1 stars (15 listener reviews )

Share your thoughts with others

Create Your Own Review

Average Rating: 3stars  review , Tuesday, February 07, 2017

By Madeline Kane :

This podcast is really interesting and I was excited to hear the results of Dr. Stella Resko's study. I think that the results found are very concerning in that the women who need the most help are the ones who don't attend a single session. I have heard a lot about the seeking safety treatment and I think that it is a very effective treatment program. I hope to hear more about other possible interventions to engage women with a higher level of need in this or other treatment programs that women with a higher level of need feel comfortable participating in. The other group of women that experienced higher attrition rates was woc. I think it should be modified to resonate with more than just white women however I think that this area may be easier for the program to improve on. I enjoyed listening to this program and I plan to keep these factors in mind trying to engage clients.

Flag This

 


Average Rating: 3stars  overcoming risk factors , Wednesday, April 25, 2012

By Sharlene :

I found it interesting that Dr. Resko created a secondary study to examine the data from the original study. The creation of other hypothesis helped to describe some factors that contribute to the barriers woman often face that prevent successful substance abuse treatment. A gender specific study can help social workers examine the criteria for non compliance with women that suffer from a dual diagnosis and assist in the creation of a program that could possibly address this problem. The use of a follow up assessment proved to be important in determining the impact and the reduction of PTSD related symptoms that occurred after the conclusion of the study and the amount of information that the participants retained. The barriers for early attrition such as transportation, child care and depression are all variables that may be identified early in treatment and attempts can be made to resolve those issues before the women engage in treatment.

Flag This

 


Average Rating: 4stars  early dropout risk for substance abuse users along with ptsd, Wednesday, April 18, 2012

By Jennifer Steimer :

Dr. Stella Resko podcast was very educational and informational. I found it interesting to see the amont of women 18% who went through an extensive interview, sometimes lasting up to 2 hours, many women just did not show up after the intensive interview which led Dr. Resko to do further research to why. I believe the bottom line for many of these women is they are just not ready to take the steps for treatment. Mindset, you have to be ready and determined to take on treatment as hard as it may be. Some of the reasons that were looked at for no shows to treatment were issues like: transporation, childcare, depression, employment and these were considered not related to drop out. On the other hand, one reason for dropout was partner violence. Not adult partner violence but adolescent partner violence women were more likely to drop out of treatment to the impact of the violence and how they digested it as a child vs. as an adult women who has experienced domestic violence. Dr. Resko suggests that perhaps the adolescents who experienced domestic violence may have gone through cumalitive violence throughout their lives. Great PodCast.

Flag This

 


Average Rating: 5stars  wooftastic!, Thursday, April 05, 2012

By Smokey Singh :

This podcast was off the hook! They say you can't teach a dog new tricks, but BOW WOW, I learned quite a lot tonight. I give this 4 paws up!



Flag This

 


Average Rating: 4stars  student review , Tuesday, March 27, 2012

By Jackie P. :

After listening to this podcast I found it full of great information. I was interesting to find out that in order for women to receive treatment there is somewhat of a long process to be in the treatment. it amazed me even more to find out that there is a high rate of women who drop out within the first week.

Flag This

 


Average Rating: 3stars  early treatment drop-out, Monday, January 30, 2012

By Lea A. :

I found the data given by Dr. Resko to be interesting. I liked that her collection of data is done blindly and therefore makes it more valid. One of the findings of the study may seem very trivial and can even be dismissed in such studies, but I think the logistical risk factors for early treatment drop-out have a lot more to do with attrition than some of the other factors given. By logistical I mean transportation issues, day care issues, etc. Women with children and/or no transportation find it very difficult to keep appointments for treatment. I believe that this is a huge problem even in women who want to get help, for them to even make to treatment is a significant barrier. I also found it interesting that women with a higher need for psychological help, i.e. with others disorders such a PTSD or depression, were more likely to drop out of the substance abuse treatment than other women who don't.

Flag This

 


Average Rating: 5stars  student, Tuesday, January 17, 2012

By Belda Menchaca :

The podcast was very informative and interesting. It is mainly focused on the risk factors that cause people to abandon treatment for substance use disorders and PTSD. I was really surprised how some people take the initiative and time, by going through the assessments and the baseline screening, but never returned for treatment at all. In my opinion it is very important to know the factors that are affecting these women to dropout early from their treatment. It will help identify a person that is in higher risk and to find a solution to help them more, so they can remain in the treatment. As a Social Worker is very helpful to know any reasons why people do not finish their treatment, what the factors may be and it also should aid to help people better.




Flag This

 


Average Rating: 5stars  substance abuse , Tuesday, January 17, 2012

By Ruby Arenivas :


The podcast “Risk Factors for Early Treatment Dropout Among Women with Co-Occurring Substance Use Disorders and PTSD” was very interesting. Dr. Stella Resko pointed out interesting factors on the substance users and women who drop out of the program drop out due to other reasons. This podcast contained valid information and could be beneficial to individuals studying counseling or social worker field. Inclusive, I would highly recommend this podcast to gain more knowledge and resources on substance abuse.







Flag This

 


Average Rating: 4stars  interesting research, Tuesday, January 17, 2012

By Leticia Mendoza :

I found this podcast to be very interesting. I was honestly a little shocked to find that the link between women and the early drop out rates didn't involve PTSD or other types of environmental barriers. However, I did like the way she looked at the retention rate. The main investigators didn't look the results in this way and I agree that It has an important role in the success of the women.

Flag This

 


Average Rating: 5stars  dropout amongwomen with co-occurring substance use disorders and ptsd, Tuesday, January 17, 2012

By Anthony :

This podcast featuring Dr. Stella Resko, served to be very informational and intriguing. It brought forth a lot of information that the listener could gain pertaining to the social work field. Some things discussed such as people with partner violence were more prone to drop out of treatment, people that abused opiates were more likely to stay, and PTSD and drug addiction were not linked to early drop out all served as surprising information. Overall this podcast was very insightful, and I recommend one without current knowledge of this serious issue to listen.

Flag This

 


Average Rating: 4stars  dropout , Tuesday, January 17, 2012

By Sabrina Silvestre :

The podcast was very interesting to hear, because of the dropout rate. Women would basically dropout before even starting the actual treatment. In addition, stress disorder and depression had no effect on the early dropout rate, which I thought would be a main factor to the dropout rate.




















Flag This

 


Average Rating: 4stars  dropout review, Monday, January 16, 2012

By Shawnae Brangman :

I found that this podcast had very interesting information about the early dropout rates of women from treatment. One interesting thing I found interesting is that there is no real difference between those who have PTSD and suffer from substance abuse. Also that the rate of dropout is a lot higher in the first week as there are many factors that contribute to the women not coming back for treatment. This information is relevant so that individuals can better understand the factors and help the women in need. Overall i think that the podcast was very informative.






Flag This

 


Average Rating: 4stars  great information, Monday, January 16, 2012

By Judyth Figueroa :

This podcast was very informative and showed a range of issues that contribute to early treatmeant dropout in women. One thing I found interesting was how some women went through hours of assesments to enter the treatment and didn't show up for the actual treatment. Another thing that stood out to me was how different races had different drpo out rates. Overall, I found the podcast interesting and very informative.

Flag This

 


Average Rating: 4stars  an understanding, Thursday, January 12, 2012

By Jasmine Tyler :

In this podcast, there were so many variables and reasons as to why women would drop out before any form treatment. It was very informal as to how the testing process was done and how the women were put into groups then choose not to come back for different reasons; and Dr. Resko gave possiblilties from the womens point of view as to why. I also found it interesting that different disorders such as PTSD and Depression didn't seem to curve the effect of the rate in which women were dropping out.

Flag This

 


Average Rating: 4stars  very informative, Thursday, January 12, 2012

By Charles Chilla :

The podcast presented some very interesting facts about the early treatment dropout rates for women. I found it interesting to hear that the chances of someone dropping out depend on what they were receiving treatment for, such as women using stimulants had a higher dropout rate than those being treated for opiate use. I was also unaware that some patients choose to dropout of treatment before attending a single session. Another thing I found interesting to hear was that post traumatic stress disorder and depression did not seem to have an effect on the early dropout rate. This podcast does a very good job of giving reasons and explaining why women drop out of treatment early.


Flag This


DISCLAIMER: The content shared by the presenter(s) and/or interviewer(s) of each podcast is their own and not necessarily representative of any views, research, or practice from the UB School of Social Work or the inSocialWork® podcast series.