Reviews

Episode 83 - Dr. Carol Tosone: Shared Traumatic Stress: Challenges and Opportunities for Clinicians Living and Working in a Post-Disaster Environment

Monday, October 31, 2011, 9:46:46 AM

Image of Dr. Carol Tosone

Dr. Carol Tosone discusses shared traumatic stress, the experience of mental health clinicians dually exposed to a traumatic experience, both primarily as citizens and secondarily through the trauma narratives of their clients. Dr. Tosone discusses results and implications of her research examining the long-term impact of 9/11 and Hurricane Katrina on Manhattan and New Orleans clinicians respectively. Implications include possible shifts in professional boundaries, including increased self-disclosure and therapeutic intimacy, as well as the need for training and self-care for clinicians living and working in a traumatogenic environment.

Download MP3 (21.7 MB)

Listener Reviews

7 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
Average Listener Review

Average Rating: 4.4 stars (7 listener reviews )

Share your thoughts with others

Create Your Own Review

Average Rating: 5stars  shared trauma, Sunday, January 27, 2013

By Jen D. :

This podcast brought upon a lot of interesting thoughts and ideas around the topic of secondary or shared trauma. Being half way through UB’s MSW program, I am beginning to learn about the importance of self care through professors and other faculty members. I know that it is important to learn to deal with the stress and emotions around experiencing secondary trauma, but this podcast made me think about that in a very different way. What if we, as the worker are also experiencing the trauma first hand? I cannot begin to imagine how challenging that must be. However, Dr. Tosone explains that for many people in this field helping others is a method of healing themselves. I wonder how many clinicians did cope with tragedies such as 9/11 and Hurricane Katrina by helping others in need? I would imagine the majority of social workers in these areas, who struggled with trauma first hand, truly do/ did find comfort and therapeutic escape by focusing on helping others to survive and cope. Overall, I enjoyed this interview and I believe that Dr. Tosone can offer great insight on this topic. She was heavily involved in 9/11 and experienced firsthand and second hand trauma in such a big way. I believe as professionals we need to be aware of the impact and possibility of experiencing shared trauma. We may be in this field to help others, but we must never forget the importance of coping with trauma ourselves.


Flag This

 


Average Rating: 5stars  connor healy review, Tuesday, January 17, 2012

By Connor Healy :

I think this was a very good podcast with the way Dr. Tosone talks about how people in certain areas deal with disasters compared to how the community acts normally. When she talks about how hurricane Katrina effected the citizens of New Orleans, she says, "They are the biggest party city we have" and that they are avoidant and braced for it. The best part to me is when she is comparing the communities such as when 9/11 happened and how it was very sudden but when you look at cities in Israel always have to be ready and prepared for any attack.


Flag This

 


Average Rating: 5stars  review of shared traumatic stress, Monday, January 16, 2012

By Sara O. :

I found this podcast quite fascinating about how different types of traumas result in typically the same reaction in people. I never thought the oil spill in the Gulf had that much of an effect on the people living in the area, however it does make a lot of sense that people would react the way they did and be scared of losing their comfortable life, especially if they had lived through Katrina and lost everything once before. I also think it is beneficial for clients now that their therapists can connect with them on a more personal level so that the clients can feel like they are not alone, someone else understands what they may be going through.


Flag This

 


Average Rating: 4stars  a great look into shared traumatic stress, Monday, January 16, 2012

By Emilie Eaton :

Dr. Carol Tosone provides a great overview of secondary traumatic stress, specifically among clinicians that experienced Hurricane Katrina and the 9-11 attacks in New York City. The differences between the two groups of clinicians were fascinating - 9-11 clinicians were affected more by the attacks because it was a one-time, unexpected event whereas clinicians in New Orleans were more resilient. They had grown up in an environment accustomed to hurricanes. It is also interesting learning how the two groups used the trauma they experienced to help others.

Flag This

 


Average Rating: 4stars  brooke wolinsky, Sunday, January 15, 2012

By Brooke Wolinsky :

Podcasts like this make me realize how many traumas there are out there and that are occurring more often. Disasters and terriorists attacks are traumas that are sadly naturally occurring in the world today. I feel that yes, you can be more prepared for attacks like this to happen, but it won't make that much of a difference to the impact it can give to a person to not be traumitized from situations like this. I found it really interesting that they are trying to find a way they can help people be able to deal with these traumas but still be able to help others.

Flag This

 


Average Rating: 4stars  by: ivonne gonzalez, Sunday, January 15, 2012

By Ivonne Gonzalez :

I do believe that trauma on people would be less severe if we were prepared for events like Katrina or the 9/11 like Dr. Carol Tosone said. But like those type of events I feel that their is no preparedness on that because is a big change for a lot of people. For example one thing i would believe that we could prepare ourselves would be like the economy if it would get bad. Also like Dr. Tosone described it depends a lot if they had a trauma back then and that's why they are more severe when they go through events like this.



Flag This

 


Average Rating: 4stars  student response, Friday, January 13, 2012

By Alexia Haley :

In situations like Katrina or 9/11, I believe it is normal to be unprepared. While we know that traumatic events such as these can occur, we don't prepare ourselves or others for them. If we did so, the trauma the victims experience might not be as severe, but to a small degree. They are events we aren't expecting, causing unexpected long term outcomes that we will then learn to deal with.

Flag This


DISCLAIMER: The content shared by the presenter(s) and/or interviewer(s) of each podcast is their own and not necessarily representative of any views, research, or practice from the UB School of Social Work or the inSocialWork® podcast series.