Reviews

Episode 80 - Dr. Jeffrey Edleson: Domestic Violence in the Lives of Children (part 1 of 2)

Monday, September 19, 2011, 8:02:02 AM

Image of Dr. Jeffrey Edleson

Dr. Jeffrey Edleson of the University of Minnesota is well known for his research on adult domestic violence, particularly how it affects children in the home. In this episode, Dr. Edleson describes his work and that of his colleagues over the past two decades in their efforts to study, raise awareness of, and change both policies and practices focused on children exposed to domestic violence.

Download MP3 (36.8 MB)

Multipart - Get all parts currently posted

Listener Reviews

9 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
Average Listener Review

Average Rating: 4.4 stars (9 listener reviews )

Share your thoughts with others

Create Your Own Review

Average Rating: 4stars  test, Tuesday, January 17, 2012

By Andrea A. Perez :

I found this podcast very interesting and informative. Eye opening on how other countries view domestic violence differently and how court systems vary. Also how the help people depend greatly on the government for help. I found it interesting that parents may not know what they are doing to be wrong. Overall, the podcast brings up good points on domestic violence in the lives of children.


Flag This

 


Average Rating: 5stars  social work domestic violence , Tuesday, January 17, 2012

By Anonymous :

Dr Edleson has reached some great points in why domestic violence is such a huge concern among the U.S. today. Edleson has definitely shown that his efforts should be put to work and polices and practices should be greatly looked at and changed. As a child growing up I also was exposed to domestic violence and would definitely like for something to be done about it.

Flag This

 


Average Rating: 5stars  domestic violence , Tuesday, January 17, 2012

By Haley Soto :

Thank you Dr. Jeffrey Edleson for your amazing talk on domestic violence in the lives of children. I also wanted to point out that you even brought up the topic of different cultures and religions that also suffer from domestic violence and how it doesn't pertain to just one certain race or culture. Also, I never knew that men think that because they abuse women that others are doing it too. It's unbelievable to me that some could think that. Again, this podcast was amazing and a great insight into the domestic violence of today.

Flag This

 


Average Rating: 3stars  intro to social work assignment, Tuesday, January 17, 2012

By Alexandria Regas :

This is very informative about the different terms that we use to describe domestic violence. It is interesting to find out how much people do not know and/or understand about domestic violence and much children see it. The amount of victims is amazing, and those who don't think that they are victims is an incredible amount as well.

Flag This

 


Average Rating: 5stars  how victims define domestic violence, Monday, January 16, 2012

By Anahi Garcia :

After hearing this podcast I became very concerned on how domestic violence is defined by victims. Many victims of domestic violence do not consider themselves a battered individual, until they are asked specific questions about their spouse’s behavior; only then do these individuals realize that the abuse they face in their household makes them victims of domestic violence. Although there are many cases of domestic violence, only 11-22% of women report being victims in an annual basis. I was shocked to hear how perpetrators of domestic violence justify their abuse on their victims, and this is how they cope with their behavior. I am very pleased to have individuals such as, Dr. Edelson, helping educate the public about domestic violence. I hope that by spreading the awareness of domestic violence more victims come forward and report their abuse, and receive help to better their lives!

Flag This

 


Average Rating: 5stars  shocking. . . . children need more support groups in their lives, Monday, January 16, 2012

By Erica R :

After listening to this podcast, I was shocked at the number of children that have been a victim of domestic viloence. I always was aware of the posibilities of it going on within a household but never dug deeper to understand what a huge lasting impact it will have on them. Knowing that 27% of children 14-17 years of age reported being exposed to violence in their household. Growing up there was never really speeches about domestic violence. We always had DARE programs or other speakers about drugs and alcohol. Yes, that is a very important risk factor that needs to be talked about in young children but I feel as if many children in domestic violence households DON'T come forward to talk to someone in fear of being separated completely from their parents or potentially 'ruining' their parents relationship. I think there should be speakers and more help support counslers within childrens schools and more access to talking to someone about the situation. I know that I did not realize domestic violence was all about control. To some children growing up in a household with domestic violence they may think is normal because of not knowing any different especially at a young age. Lets help!

Flag This

 


Average Rating: 4stars  let's help these kids., Monday, January 16, 2012

By Anonymous :

After listening to the first part of this podcast I realized how close to home this really hit. Not only me and my siblings but some of my friends were victim of domestic violence at young ages. It is hard for a young kid to realize what to do in this kind of situation and from personal experience I can say that the main reason why I never said anything to anyone was because of the fear of retaliation from the offender. There needs to be more done to help these kids because it seems like this type of violence is growing more and more aggressive each day.

Flag This

 


Average Rating: 5stars  domestic violence....too close to home, Friday, January 13, 2012

By Sallie Easley :

Many months ago, I discovered that I had been a victim of domestic violence practically my entire life. I attended a workshop in Scottsdale and it was certainly an eye opener. My own father was the first offender to be followed by a couple of husbands. Although I was never physically beaten, we learned that internal scars are not visible. It was always about control which is what the abuser thrives on. This podcast indicates a shocking 27% of children ages 14-17 are victims. It can and does affect us in our adult lives. I'm pleased to learn that Dr. Edelson and his team are working on ways to improve awareness of domestic violence. With full awareness comes change. New laws need to be put in place to protect victims. Current laws need to be changed.

Flag This

 


Average Rating: 4stars  domestic vilonce is something people need to look deeper in to!!, Thursday, January 12, 2012

By Susan Mayhugh :

I had no idea how much Domestic Violence affected a child and how it could keep affecting that child well into adulthood. I also didn't know that 27% of children between the ages of 14 and 17 are affected in the world. I also found that even though a parent tries to protect their children against the domestic violence they are still involved which can in the end be very consequential for the person or persons involved. In this pod cast I also thought that it was interesting and upsetting to hear that domestic violence happens about the same around the world however it is "handled" differently and it can end very differently in different parts of the world due to the beliefs and politics involved.

Flag This


DISCLAIMER: The content shared by the presenter(s) and/or interviewer(s) of each podcast is their own and not necessarily representative of any views, research, or practice from the UB School of Social Work or the inSocialWork® podcast series.