Reviews

Episode 158 - Dr. Danilea Werner: Social Workers' Preparedness for School and Community Crisis

Monday, January 05, 2015, 7:45:51 AM

Image of Dr. Danilea Werner

In this episode, our guest Dr. Danilea Werner argues that social workers, especially those who work in school settings, are on he front line of response to school and community crisis events. She discusses her research with school social workers, examining their perceptions of their own and their district's preparedness for crisis events. Dr. Werner recommends how school social workers can increase their own preparedness and their confidence in their district colleagues' ability to respond effectively.

Download MP3 (29.1 MB)

Listener Reviews

7 Reviews
5 star:
 (2)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
Average Listener Review

Average Rating: 4.3 stars (7 listener reviews )

Share your thoughts with others

Create Your Own Review

Average Rating: 5stars  podcast review - , Wednesday, February 03, 2016

By Shelley M. :

I enjoyed this podcast and found its content very insightful and useful. I am currently completing my field placement in an elementary school where safety tends to be a priority. I am familiar with how the school system communicates with parents and what types of drills are practiced since I am also a parent in the same school district. The thought of something happening in the school while I am there makes me feel uncomfortable since I have never practiced the drills personally. I know there are procedures in place but since I am not familiar with them and have not practiced them I am not confident in my ability to respond to a crisis. This podcast has prompted me to have a discussion with my supervisor regarding this issue. The importance of training, developing procedures, and practicing plans is stressed in the podcast and I couldn’t agree more with the significance in promoting the perception of preparedness for crisis situations.
Although I never had really thought about the school being a frontline for community disasters I realize how true it is. We have had situations that have occurred in our community that have made an impact on everyone including our children. The school system and community has supports in place to assist the students with dealing with these types of disasters. After the extra supports of the initial crisis have ended the school system continues to offer long term support to their students.
I also support the importance of policy development in this area that would require schools to have crisis plans in place and the opportunity for staff to practice these plans.


Flag This

 


Average Rating: 5stars  podcast review, Monday, February 01, 2016

By Katherine D. Sparks :

I enjoyed this podcast it shed light to something I see in my field placement on a regular basis. Often times I see my field educator being the informative voice for colleagues in terms of mental health and crisis. My placement seems to have a good plan in place for if a crisis were to happen in the school building. However, this podcast made me think about how all school personnel are or are not prepared for other crisis such as death of a student or colleague, suicide, or natural disaster. I agreed with Dr. Werner that it's so easier for us to not think of a natural disaster affecting the school environment if it was not directly harmed. But the trickle down effects such as job loss and poverty are major factors in student mental health changes and changes in the school environment. I found the idea of having a crisis team and practicing an established plan on a regular basis to be helpful to both faculty and students. It fosters a kind of confidence within everyone that should something happen, we know what to do and we don't have to panic. I think the hardest aspect of implementing something like this would to get all faculty members to understand why this is important and get them engaged in the preparation.

Flag This

 


Average Rating: 4stars  being prepared for a crisis within schools , Monday, February 01, 2016

By Mariya Lokshina :

I thought that this podcast is extremely beneficial for not only school social workers but for all personnel within a school district. Dr. Werner discusses how school personnel need to have a plan and specific training to help deal with a potential crisis that may transpire within a school setting. She mentions how both individually preparing and preparing as a group to respond to a crisis is vital. Dr. Werner specifies that within schools over 30% of social workers stated that there has been at least one crisis within a school year. Though each event may be different and the level of severity may be interchangeable, it is still vital to be mentally prepared for all types of events both individually and as a group.I think that it is important for all personnel of a school to have this training and planning set in place to not only ensure the safety of all individuals within the school/community but to also prevent trauma that may transpire. With the trainings for responding to crises, the idea of trauma-informed practice also becomes important. Since we are dealing with adolescents and youth, it is important for the workers/personnel to be prepared because they have to not only deal with the crisis itself, but also with the safety of the children within the school. When better prepared with training and planning, potential traumas can be avoided or lowered within both the students and the staff (or really anyone impacted) if the staff members are more trained and prepared. In addition, parents may feel more safe leaving their child in a school where they know the personnel is trained for possible crisis events. In an event of crisis, fear will naturally take place and a sense of trauma will transpire, however, when properly trained, the way that all who face the trauma react can alter in a possible less post-traumatic way.

Flag This

 


Average Rating: 4stars  dr. werner & crisis preparedness for school social workers, Sunday, January 31, 2016

By Elizabeth Hastreiter :

In this podcast, Dr. Werner discusses the issue of a lack of mental health preparedness in communities. Current school employees, not only social workers, will find Werner’s research on perceptions of preparedness in the face of crisis at school useful, including her advice on how to increase preparedness. In her research, she examined school social workers’ perceptions of preparedness in handling a crisis in their school, and her results indicated that the majority of social workers felt prepared themselves, but did not feel that their schools were fully prepared. She then goes on to provide ideas for concrete ways that schools can become more prepared such as creating a crisis team, having a plan, and practicing that plan regularly. As a social work student who interns at an elementary school, Werner’s podcast prompted me to review the safety protocols for emergency situations that have been provided to me by my field placement and whether I feel equipped to adequately handle the crisis and protect my students and fellow staff members.
Werner also touches on past crisis situations in schools such as Sandy Hook, and how a tragic incident like that should be looked at as an opportunity to learn how we can prevent and prepare for similar situations. She brings in the element of being trauma-informed when working in a school when she discusses the importance of doing emergency drills, especially active shooter drills, in a way that does to not produce anxiety in children and that allows for open communication among parents, children, and school faculty. Overall, Dr. Werner’s podcast is a must listen for those, including social workers, school personnel, parents, and social work students, who want to learn more about safety and how to be more prepared for crisis situations from a professional who has had her share of experiences to back up her discussion.

Flag This

 


Average Rating: 4stars  social worker and school preparedness for crisis events, Sunday, January 31, 2016

By Candra Skrzypek :

I found this podcast useful and thought-provoking, not only as an individual who currently works in a school and may one day work as a school social worker, but also on a personal level as an individual who cares for school-aged children. Dr. Werner discussed her research with school social workers and reports that while most school social workers feel prepared to deal with crisis, many more social workers feel less confident in the rest of their school's staff to deal a crisis event. Dr. Werner highlights the importance of not only having a safety and preparedness plan, but also the importance of practicing these plans. I am reminded of one incident where a tornado touched down and destroyed a gas station a block away from the school where I was working and how with hundreds of young children crying in the hallway, all the teachers (myself included) were texting one another, trying to figure out what we were supposed to be doing while trying to not alarm the children.

The practical advice Dr. Werner gave about actually having a plan and practicing it was important. I also like how she pointed out how the effects of crisis last much longer than the media gives it attention. Lastly, the attention the attention the podcast gave to community outreach and parent involvement was useful. I do wish, however, that more specific information was provided as to what preparedness plans should look like, what 'long-term' preparedness plans may include (e.g., to address effects one-year after crisis) and how increased turnover and high levels of vacancies and substitutes may affect how a school prepares for a crisis event. Overall, the content of the interview was thought-provoking and many topics touched upon are topics that could easily be discussed within a school, or more generally, at home with any child or parent.

Flag This

 


Average Rating: 4stars  good information for crisis preparedness development, Monday, January 25, 2016

By Dee Murch :

In the past month the region I live in has experienced the death of a Principal from an accident, a student suicide, and a faculty suicide. These were difficult events to deal with and in two years I may be in role that requires I offer professional care to my community. This is the perspective I brought with me as I listened to the podcast. I am pleased that Professor Werner’s research is helping exposing on the need for mental health preparedness.
I appreciate the practical ideas Professor Werner shared as a result of her research. Training how to respond to crisis situations beyond fires are extremely important for staff and children. Her survey of 800 school social workers demonstrated the prevalence of crisis experienced within schools and how the school is a central system in the community and a great starting point to disseminate information to children, parents, and community members. Professor Werner discussed how practicing the safety plan increased the confidence a school social worker had in their school’s ability to deal with a crisis. Data like this is important as schools and other organizations look to expand their ability to deal with a crisis.
I would have appreciated more specific information regarding strategies for dealing with mental health issues that arise from a community crisis. I believe the prevalence of social media and digital imagery can multiply the trauma experienced by students as they experience the crisis multiple times through video or the retelling of the crisis over social media. These are issues that are relevant to school social workers at all levels of education. I am hopeful that Professor Werner’s work continues to highlight the important role school social workers play in the mental health of students, their families and the communities they live in.

Flag This

 


Average Rating: 4stars  interventions ii podcast review (krause), Saturday, January 31, 2015

By Olivia Camarella :

I really enjoyed listening to this podcast. My bachelors is in childhood education so as a social work student I have a lot of interest in school social work. I really liked how you discussed that even after these crises have been resolved the families involved are still affected. It is social workers jobs to help these families during the aftermath. It is also important that we help create a crisis team for our school so that more people in charge are more prepared in case of a crisis event. If we are more prepared for a crisis we can help protect our students and families. I like how you discusses that it is not enough to have a plan, but that you need to practice this plan. If you do not know how to implement this plan then it will not be as affective. I found it very interesting that you studied how many people had been affective by crisis and that you split it into categories. I did not know that such a high percentage has experienced a crisis. That was very eye opening for me because I had no idea that many people had experienced a natural disaster or lockdown. Overall this podcast was very informative for me as a teacher and social worker. We need to be prepared to protect our students, faculty, and families to the best of our ability. This includes being prepared for a crisis, by being proactive and not only reactive.

Flag This


DISCLAIMER: The content shared by the presenter(s) and/or interviewer(s) of each podcast is their own and not necessarily representative of any views, research, or practice from the UB School of Social Work or the inSocialWork® podcast series.