Reviews

Episode 10 - Dr. Sandra Bloom: The Sanctuary Model: A Trauma-Informed Approach to Treatment and Services

Monday, December 29, 2008, 11:27:32 AM

Image of Dr. Sandra Bloom

Sandra L. Bloom, M.D., co-creator of the Sanctuary Model, discusses a trauma-informed approach to treatment and systems change. Dr. Bloom describes the paradigm shift needed to understand the psychobiology of trauma and its impact on recovery from mental illness.

Download MP3 (19.2 MB)

Listener Reviews

11 Reviews
5 star:
 (2)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
Average Listener Review

Average Rating: 3.6 stars (11 listener reviews )

Share your thoughts with others

Create Your Own Review

Average Rating: 3stars  great contribution to trauma informed social work , Wednesday, April 24, 2013

By Mikylah Death :

This podcast discussion with Dr. Sandra Bloom was very interesting to listen to as it describes the development of a specific trauma-focused model, the Sanctuary model. I enjoyed listening to the dialogue regarding Dr. Bloom’s career and her immense contribution to trauma-focused work. She reviews the development of the Sanctuary Model, which began in the early 1980’s when her team discovered a strong connection between early childhood traumatic events and their link to adolescent or adult mental health disorders. It involves highly trauma informed thinking. Dr. Bloom’s discussion captured the immense shift on the views and impact of trauma in previous generations as opposed to our present generation. She emphasizes that professionals in these fields need to change the way they perceive human beings and understand what makes things go "wrong for them". It was inspiring to hear Dr. Bloom’s dedication to her work as she has written books and teaches the Sanctuary Model all over the world (Australia, Ireland, Scotland, U.S). Dr. Bloom does somewhat detail the development of the Sanctuary Institute, however, I would have liked to hear some further specifications about the actual Sanctuary Institute/Model as well as the training programs.

Flag This

 


Average Rating: 3stars  not enough detail, Saturday, April 06, 2013

By Denise Anderson :

I liked how Dr. Bloom explained about how there are many many things that can be hurtful to a child, and then there are even more countless ways this trauma can manifest itself in adulthood. I was most compelled by how she said, now that we have trauma-informed care and treatment, clients can really RECOVER from their trauma, not just learn to deal with it in a stable way. I am so impressed with the trauma informed program here at UB, and it is like nothing I have ever learned before in the social work educational system. I just felt more detail could have been given regarding the model itself.

Flag This

 


Average Rating: 4stars  a great concept when working with our clients., Monday, April 23, 2012

By Tina Adkins :

This was a very helpful interview as a student and future clinician who would like to work with children. This was the first I had heard of the Sanctuary Model, and as Dr. Bloom stated I think that this is a great approach for social workers as we work with the whole person and their families, and this is what this model focuses on. The Sanctuary Model is important to get across to clinicians and organizations to make change. I do agree with Dr. Bloom that organizational change does need to start at the top, though it is possible for clinicians to bring about change even in their sessions with their clients to have a more trauma informed approach. I agree with Dr. Bloom that by a clinician witnessing the change a client can have by using a more trauma informed approach, there is a greater chance to create change in your organization. I also enjoyed that the Sanctuary Model is evidenced based to work with children in residential treatment programs and how helping children as soon as possible can have positive impacts on them. It is nice to see all of the focus on creating system change for trauma informed care, as that is very important. I also thought it was great as a selling point for funders to understand that cost effectiveness of the program and the long term benefits. I just wish in this interview that I could have heard more about the actual Sanctuary Model and how it is implemented.




Flag This

 


Average Rating: 5stars  living proof!!!!! one generation changed for the future., Tuesday, March 13, 2012

By Petra :

I so admire Dr. Sandra L. Bloom. She has captured the reality of what years ago was tabu. For centuries, we did not discuss nor look at the facts and the results of hidden tramas or mental illness. Being aware is half the progress. This is a national concern! If we begin with one generation, the rest can follow. My personal experience after 27 years has proven, given the chance, it will change your life for the better. For me, my disfunctional generation, had no respect for society for all we knew was fear and mistrust. I can not imagine, hadn't been given the chance of the Sanctuary, how different my future would have been. My off springs are shining citizens and live functioning lives. They give back to society and do not need to be taken care of. I agree with her statement that politicians need to get involved to make changes to fund such help. To start early, is very important. The sooner the better for the entire family system In turn, we can turn out upstanding adults for society.

Flag This

 


Average Rating: 4stars  sanctuary model , Thursday, January 26, 2012

By Alicia :

I originally chose to listen to this podcast because I had been trained through my work at Baker Victory Services to use the model at our site but, have never read or heard what Dr. Bloom had to say about it herself. Through my experience I believe that the sanctuary model really works to help individuals achieve goals that they want to achieve while being sensitive to the various traumas they have experienced. I recently visited Hamburg Day Program where the model is used. Many of the individuals there used to live at the DDSO and lived in a very structured environment. The use of the sanctuary model has helped these individuals adapt to their new "freedom" at the day program. The program works with each person individually and creates the best environment in which they can learn and grow. I think the work that Dr. Bloom has done has been very beneficial to social services and I hope to see more agencies adopt trauma informed care models in the future.


Flag This

 


Average Rating: 3stars  more on the model..., Tuesday, December 06, 2011

By Elise Blasingame :

It seems that Dr. Bloom's discussion was meant for folks who are already aware of what the Sanctuary Model entails. I feel as though there could have been more around the specific populations within the overarching label of 'trauma', as well as the specific changes needed in staff and health and human service providers to make the Sanctuary Model effective.
I also felt that the comment around implementation was fairly jarring--that only a top down approach can work in actualizing system change. Recently there has been a lot of research in the area of quality improvement and organizational change in healthcare settings. The outcomes for many of these projects were very much tied to a comprehensive approach to system change (Example: Dr. Richard Shannons--Penn). In other words, everyone from the janitor to the CEO had to be engaged in order to catch standardized errors or undesirable behaviors.
Regardless of the factors Dr. Bloom found to be successful in implementation, models that encourage treatment of the 'whole' person instead of focusing on pathological responses is a step in the right direction.

Flag This

 


Average Rating: 5stars  finally! someone gets it!, Sunday, June 05, 2011

By Shermeeka Mason :

Of all the podcasts I listened to, I resonated with Dr. Bloom's the most. I feel she speaks the truth when stating that those who experience trauma have to receive treatment early--that the ENTIRE person (or people) has to have support early on.
I also like how she speaks of putting economic and political pressure on those in power. To this day, social service programs are losing funding because they are seen as "ineffective." Yet one of the reasons why programs and facilities are losing money because the Powers That Be want results too quickly--without taking into the consideration the needs of those who suffered trauma. So Dr. Bloom is right in saying that the politicians and supervisors need to look at the big picture instead of rapid results and dollar signs.

Flag This

 


Average Rating: 4stars  a case for trauma-informed care, Saturday, July 24, 2010

By Kelsey Mustard :

In this interview Dr. Sandra Bloom primarily discusses the background of the Sanctuary model and how it is based on a trauma-informed care perspective. She provides a good understanding of how trauma-informed care is based on the idea that trauma experienced in childhood greatly affects an individual as an adult especially in the area of mental health. Bloom also identifies that knowledge of how trauma affects individuals has important implications for treatment citing that you must understand trauma in order to accomplish effective treatment. The point is also made that use of this model has allowed for great change in people’s lives and even those with serious traumatic and psychiatric disorders. While the Sanctuary model is described as an organizational approach that starts with leadership not a whole lot of details are given on the model itself. However, Bloom does provide a number of points on what her hope is for this model which help to give support for its use. These points include recognizing that knowledge is power and that when people have a different way of viewing their problems in contrast to what’s wrong with them then their capacity to self motivate and change is dramatic.

Flag This

 


Average Rating: 4stars  sanctuary model in buffalo ny, Sunday, January 17, 2010

By Amy Martin :

I was interested to hear Dr. Bloom’s perspective after visiting the Baker-Victory day treatment center in the Western New York Region, which implemented her Sanctuary model. I had been impressed with the differences I saw between this organization which uses her model, and other residential centers in the area which do not. It is evident that the Sanctuary model is truly the primary means of addressing needs of those who have been subjected to trauma. The training programs available for those interested in learning the Sanctuary model is a great advancement in the fields of social work and psychology. Dr. Bloom’s program is one that is truly attempting to address a societal problem in a manner that is trauma informed and culturally competent. I expect (and hope to see) the use of the Sanctuary model to spread across the region in the future. I would have liked to hear Dr. Bloom explicitly discuss the differences between the Sanctuary model and use of Restraint in residental centers and how this has helped to prove the legitimacy of the Sanctuary model.

Flag This

 


Average Rating: 3stars  interesting new treatment, Wednesday, December 09, 2009

By Kathleen :

I found this to be a very informative and interesting interview. Even though The Sanctuary Model was not fully explained in detail, I still felt it was explained enough to understand the basic ideas of the concept. It is really interesting how effective this model has been in not only area's in the US. but around the world as well. I really liked the point Dr. Bloom made about how "knowledge is power." I would agree with this in aspect that with many health issues that occur today the reason people have problems dealing with them is because they are not educated on the risks, results, and causes of certain health issues. I really liked this different way of looking at the causes of the mental health issues instead of the continuing labels that are put on people. If we take people our of categories we can see how they all relate. I also agree with Dr. Bloom that helping individuals to self motivate is what is really going to help them improve and progress towards a more normal life. Another interesting point, is i never considered trauma as having a biological effect. With this Sanctuary Model it seems as though it will be easier to help more mental health patients early on and target their issues to what may have caused their mental health state. Through this approach less can be focused on the symptoms of their mental health and more on helping to cure these individuals.

Flag This

 


Average Rating: 2stars  now, what is the trauma-informed approach?, Tuesday, May 05, 2009

By Lisa :

A very interesting interview by a thorough and compasionate psychiatrist and expert in the field, the talk still seems to circle around the core, the topic, and we don't get to hear about it. There were great news like those about recovery once all services related will have adopted a policy on the basis of the trauma-informed approach. Does this have any impact on the discussion on criminals, whether they are sick or criminal? These topics are shortly mentioned but with no clear statement. There are some lose ends to this otherwise excellent and - from a humanitarian standpoint - very promising statements made in the discussion.

I found myself still asking at the end of the interview: Now, what exactly IS the trauma-informed approach? I only have a very vague idea. Lots of questions arose while listening, like for instance, what about subconscious trauma, like those from very early childhood?

Is the paradigm shift the same that has already happened in the public opinion in most European countries? Or is it different from that? I think it must be permitted to claim a definition right at the beginning of the interview. Only then would we be able to appreciate all the information on this very interesting issue fully.

Flag This


DISCLAIMER: The content shared by the presenter(s) and/or interviewer(s) of each podcast is their own and not necessarily representative of any views, research, or practice from the UB School of Social Work or the inSocialWork® podcast series.